Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Gifts and Donations to the UWF Libraries

Information for potential donors to the libraries

Donations to the University Libraries

The Library welcomes donations of books and monographs and accepts them for the circulating collection in accordance with its collection development policies, developed to support the curriculum and research needs of the university community. Policies governing donations to the University Archives and West Florida History Center are different because its mission and needs are different. 

Not every book can be added to the collection. Items that do not match our needs may be offered to other agencies, sold, or recycled. If this is not acceptable, please discuss the gift you wish to make with Melissa Gonzalez, Collection Development Coordinator, first. Melissa can be reached by phone at 474-2821 or by email: mgonzalez@uwf.eduThe Library can formally acknowledge the receipt of the gift in writing, but cannot offer an appraisal of its value.

Here are some guidelines that may be helpful with regard to giving items that will go into the circulating collection:

  • Books should be clean and unmarked. The pages should not be brittle; otherwise, the book will not stand up to use.
  • The library can accept textbooks, however review copy textbooks cannot be accepted and will not be added to the collection.
  • The Library cannot accept issues of magazines (National Geographic, Fortune, Time, Rolling Stone, and the like.).
  • Scholarly journals may be considered, if they fill in gaps in subscriptions that we have.
  • The Library cannot pick up gifts.

Once received by the Library, gifts cannot be returned to the donor. Please see the Libraries' Collection Development and Management Policy for further details.

 

What Else Can I do with My Books?

There are hundreds of agencies worldwide that need books and other kinds of materials. If identifying such an agency would be of interest to you, please click on the Charitable Organizations tab in the navigation menu

If you would like to trade your books for someone else's books, Book Mooch might be just what you are looking for!