Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic books are included in the library catalog or may be searched within the Netlibrary or Ebrary collections. Specific titles may be located using Instant Search in the library catalog:
Educator's Reference Desk
This Web site facilitates educational research, offering numerous sources of information on an array of education-related topics. The site includes suggested topics and sub-topics and offers general search capabilities.
Maintained by Michael Viron, General Education Online.
Maintained by University of Texas.
Directory of Financial Aids for Women (2001-2003)
A list of Scholarships, Fellowships, Loans, Grants, and Internships that were designed exclusively or primarily for women.
Financial Aid for African Americans (2001-2003)
A list of Scholarships, Fellowships, Loans, Grants, Awards, and Internships that are open exclusively or primarily to African Americans.
Books in the Catalog
Ebsco Academic eBook Collection
A large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, including business, arts and humanities.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
A collection of over 80,000 multi-disciplinary eBooks (formerly from NetLibrary).
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Bibliographies
Dictionary of Multicultural Education
Attempts to define a variety of entries as to their meaning in relation to current thinking in multicultural education and to provide meaningful examples (published in 1997). This book can be located at the UWF Professional Studies Library. The call number is: Reference - LC1099 .D53 1997
Encyclopedia of African-American Education
A "comprehensive reference tool for researchers, teachers, scholars, students and laypersons who need information . . . on significant issues, policies, historical events, laws, theories, organizations, institutions, and people incident to the education of African-Americans in the United States" (published in 1996).
Encyclopedia of Education
This Second Edition, 8-volume, eBook is a comprehensive resource that includes information about the field of education in the United States and throughout the world.
Encyclopedia of Language and Education
Promotes the subject of multilingualism in an attractive, comprehensible and comprehensive manner and attempts to be academically sound while being accessible to as wide an audience as possible.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education
This encyclopedia contains over 400 entries, including events, court cases, and people that had an effect on a multicultural aspect of education. A bibliography is included for additional resources.
Gender and Education: An Encyclopedia
This is an encyclopedia of educational theories, research, and practices explored by educators where gender and education intersect.
Philosophy of Education: The Key Concepts
An in-depth glossary of terms surrounding philosophical concepts of education.
The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
Published in 2011, this is the A to Z of concepts in education.
Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors
A list of subject headings (descriptors) used to efficiently locate articles and reports in ERIC (Education Resources Education Center).
Venture Into Cultures: A Resource Book of Multicultural Materials and Programs
This bibliography offers resources to assist educators in introducing their students to various cultures.
21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook
This handbook is geared toward undergraduates who are majoring in education. It offers discussions surrounding current issues in education, including social contexts.
Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development
This handbook offers information on cognitive development with a section focusing on infancy, a section on early childhood, and section covering various topics within childhood, a section on atypical development, and a section on models of cognitive development. Topics include: memory, inductive and deductive reasoning, scientific thinking, and dyslexia.
Handbook of Psychoeducational Assessment
This handbook offers a practical guide to psychological testing and educational assessment. Information on tests used for assessment is also included.
Handbook of Research on Educational Communications and Technology
Useful for familiarizing students and researchers in the domain of educational communications and technology or for selecting research topics, methodologies and hypotheses in this area.
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
This is a comprehensive reference for those who work or study in the field of early childhood education. Published in 2006, this second edition includes the following sections: Early Childhood Education and Child Development, Early Childhood Educational Curriculum, Foundations of Early Childhood Educational Policy, and Research and Evaluation Strategies for Early Childhood Education.
The Routledge International Handbook of the Sociology of Education
This handbook focuses on mapping the sociology of education from the perspective of social context, power, and knowledge.