Skip to Main Content
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Diversity Collection Audit & Assessment

Purpose

The purpose of this audit/assessment project is to evaluate our current monograph collection through a diversity lens in order to:

  • learn what percentage of our collection reflects something other than the experiences of white, heteronormative, and non-disabled males
  • identify collection gaps in those diverse experiences
  • increase diversity through collection development
  • promote diverse aspects of our collection 

The assessment is primarily retrospective (what do we have?), but also provides direction and guidance on how we might improve our collections going forward (what should we get?).

This project was started in Spring 2020 and is updated annually.

Campus & Community Environment

Equal Opportunity

The University of West Florida is firmly committed to equal opportunity and to compliance with all federal, state, and local laws that prohibit discrimination, harassment, and retaliation.

The University of West Florida is committed to ensuring that each member of the University community is permitted to work and learn in an environment which is free from discrimination and harassment based on protected classes.
(source: UWF Equal Opportunity Office)

This assessment project directly supports the UWF Strategic Plan, 2022-2027.
Specifically, the following Strategic Directions:
          7.1 Maintain a welcoming, inclusive, equitable and respectful environment for employees, students, visitors and service partners.
          7.2 Ensure a commitment to open- minded and tolerant civil discourse.

Protected Classes at UWF:
          Age Color, Disability, Gender, Gender Identity, Marital Status, National Origin, Race, Religion, Sexual Orientation, Veteran Status

            (source: UWF Equal Opportunity Office
)

Campus and Community Population Demographics

Population 1

 UWF
13,504

Escambia Co.
324,878

Tri-County
739,628

Florida
22,244,823

U.S.
333,287,557

Male

38.04%

49.5%

50.6%

49.2%

49.5%

Female

61.96%

50.5%

49.4%

50.8%

50.5%

White

60.37%

68.8%

78.6%

76.9%

75.8%

Black/African American

10.89%

23%

13.4%

17%

13.6%

American Indian/Alaskan Native

0.33%

0.9%

0.8%

0.5%

1.3%

Asian

3.61%

3.3%

2.9%

3%

6.1%

Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander 

0.21%

0.2%

0.2%

0.1%

0.3%

Hispanic/Latino

11.84%

6.4%

7.7%

26.8%

18.9%

Two or more races 

5.38%

3.7%

4%

2.4%

2.9%

Disabled, under age 65 

5% 2

12.1%

11.4%

8.7%

8.7%

Foreign born 3

3.29% 4

5.4%

6.1%

21%

13.6%

Language other than English 

n/a

7.8%

8.7%

29.8%

21.7%

Persons in poverty 

4% 5

18.5%

12.4%

29.8%

21.7%

LGBT

n/a

n/a

n/a

4.6% 6

5.6% 7

Transgender

n/a

n/a

n/a

0.7% 8

0.3% 9


1 unless otherwise noted, UWF data comes from Fall 2022 enrollment data: UWF Enrollment; unless otherwise noted, Escambia Co, Santa Rosa Co, Okaloosa Co, Florida, and U.S. data comes from: U.S. Census Bureau Quickfacts - Escambia County, Santa Rosa County, Okaloosa County (July 1, 2022) - accessed May 3, 2023
2 5.66% of student body identifies as having a disability (UWF 2020 HEED application)
3 includes both naturalized and non-U.S. citizens
4 non-resident alien (international students)
5 4% of student body identifies as low-income (UWF 2019 HEED application); 30% of students receive financial aid (2018/2019 Common Data Set)
6 Florida - 4.6% of population is LGBT (2019)
https://williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu/visualization/lgbt-stats/?topic=LGBT#density
7 5.6% - American adults identifying as lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender (2021)
https://news.gallup.com/poll/329708/lgbt-identification-rises-latest-estimate.aspx
8 Florida - 110,300 (0.66%) adults who identify as transgender (2016)
https://williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu/publications/trans-adults-united-states/
https://williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu/wp-content/uploads/Trans-Adults-US-Aug-2016.pdf
9 3.5% of Americans identify as lesbian, gay, or bisexual, while 0.3% are transgender (201?)

Project Scope

Diversity can involve a number of factors, including race, ethnicity, gender, sexual identity, culture, language, socioeconomic status, veteran status, religion, politics, age, neurodiversity, and physical abilities.

This baseline assessment focuses on the following themes:

  • Race
  • Ethnicity
  • Immigration
  • Gender
  • Sexual Identity
  • Socioeconomic Status
  • Ability/Neurodiversity
  • General/Multidisciplinary (i.e. diversity, multiculturalism, intersectionality, social justice)

Not included in this assessment:

  • #ownvoices / #livedexperiences
  • Age
  • Political Diversity
  • Religious Diversity
  • Veteran Status

Considerations & Challenges

  • no single method is “right” or comprehensive
  • interdisciplinary nature of diversity topics / LC classification scheme
  • subject content and interpretation can be subjective (human fallibility)
  • the state of diversity in publishing is not equitable