Appendix II: Professional Studies Library - Collection Development Policy
The purpose of the Professional Studies Library (PSL) is to support the professional growth of students in Criminal Justice, Education, and Social Work. Its objectives are to support the course offerings of the Departments of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Instructional Design and Social Work, and the School of Education, and to provide a wide variety of quality instructional materials for inspection, evaluation, and use in the pre-K through grade twelve classroom.
The PSL currently houses six collections - Curriculum Materials, Juvenile, Manipulatives, Media, Professional Studies, and Textbooks/Course Reserves. The Juvenile collection includes fiction and non-fiction materials for PreK-12th grade. The Curriculum Materials collection contains teaching materials for PreK-12th grade, including curriculum guides developed by the State of Florida, textbooks adopted by Escambia County Public Schools, activity guides, lesson plans, workbooks, and other instructional materials. The Manipulatives collection includes non-textual resources intended for use in education settings such as flash cards, educational games and toys, models, maps, globes, equipment, and scientific samples. The Professional Studies Collection includes scholarly materials in Criminal Justice, Education, and Social Work. The Textbooks/Course Reserves collection provides access to required undergraduate textbooks in Criminal Justice, Education, and Social Work for courses currently offered in the College of Education and Professional Studies.
Selection of curriculum materials is the primary responsibility of the Head of the Professional Studies Library. Recommendations for purchase of resources are also solicited from the faculty of the School of Education, the Departments of Criminal Justice, Instructional Design and Technology, and Social Work.
In addition to the general selection criteria for the UWF Libraries, additional selection criteria for the PSL include:
For the Juvenile, Curriculum Materials, Manipulatives, and Media Collections:
The Head of the Professional Studies Library examines items first hand when possible. Evaluative bibliographies are also consulted. In addition to using review sources and basic selection tools, School Library Journal, Booklist, Horn Book, and Best Books for Children are used.
IV. COLLECTION AREAS/FORMATS
Textbooks in all disciplines, specifically those appropriate to pre-K through grade twelve, are collected. Textbooks approved for use by public schools in Escambia and Santa Rosa counties are primary candidates for purchase. Alternate texts may also be considered for purchase, as may other textbooks authorized by the State of Florida. The library will maintain copies of textbooks from at least two adoption cycles prior to the textbooks currently in use. Some older texts may be kept for their research value. The PSL Librarian will make every effort to acquire both teacher and student editions of textbooks. If budgetary considerations force a choice between the two editions of a textbook, the library will prioritize acquiring the teacher’s edition.
B. Curriculum Guides
The current curriculum guidelines authorized by the State of Florida are collected. These include The Florida Curriculum Framework: Sunshine State Standards and Instruction Practices for each discipline area. Since additional curriculum guides are widely available through online sources, they are not collected in print.
C. Juvenile Literature
D. Scholarly and Professional Literature
The Professional Studies Library will maintain a limited collection of resources related to the disciplines of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Education, and Social Work. Additional materials on these subjects are located in the John C. Pace and Emerald Coast Libraries.
E. Reference Collection
The PSL maintains a basic ready-reference collection that includes manuals of style, dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, and references applicable to the disciplines the PSL supports, such as the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.
F. Non-book materials
Audiovisual, multimedia, manipulative materials, and realia are acquired for demonstration purposes and to provide resources that students use in lesson preparation.
G. Tests and Test Preparation Materials
A very selective sampling of standardized tests used in public schools, including some used for special education, is housed in the PSL. The Librarian selects study guides for the Florida Teacher Certification Examinations and Florida Educational Leadership Examination, with priority given to new editions of the General Knowledge Examination and Professional Education Examination. The library will also maintain a collection of preparation materials for individual subject tests as budget permits. The PSL Librarian will assess the currency of the study guides annually.
The PSL accepts gifts in accordance with the UWF Libraries’ gift policies and procedures. Items that meet the same selection criteria as purchased materials, enhance the quality and usefulness of the collection, are of current value, and are complete and in good physical condition are welcomed.
V. COLLECTION MANAGEMENT
A. Annual Inventory
A Biennial inventory is conducted to determine the availability and condition of materials, as well as the accuracy of accession information.
Removal of obsolete materials, replacement or discarding of items in poor condition, and removal of resources which no longer meet the needs of the students and faculty are all part of the deselection process. As needed, expert assistance from faculty is requested. As discipline specific materials are reviewed, knowledgeable faculty are invited to aid in the decision to discard or retain.
To assure the collection’s usefulness and currency, it is continually evaluated with regard to curriculum and educational trends. This evaluation is conducted by comparing annual circulation and holdings statistics. Standard lists, catalogs, and bibliographies are consulted and, when holdings gaps are noted, action is taken to remedy the oversights.
Adopted: January 2023