Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Across Cultures: A Guide to Multicultural Literature for Children
With a focus on books that "deal with multicultural themes or diverse experiences," this guide offers key categories, including: Identity, Self-Image, and Learning; Families, Friends, and Neighborhood; Traditions--Food, Art, Poetry, Music, and Celebrations; and Traditions--Folktales.
Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English
This publication is an alphabetical guide to children's literature. The guide includes an extensive collection of entries indexed comprehensively.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Covering 150 years of children's literature in many cultures, this reference includes entries on authors, locations, and topics. Topical articles include: Adventure Stories, African American Literature, Fairy Tales, The Holocaust, Picture Books, and Series Books.
E-Literature for Children: Enhancing Digital Literacy Learning
Shows how teachers can "use e-literature in the classroom to enhance and extend the engagement of computer-age children with the enchantment of the possible worlds of literary narratives."
Essential Guide to Children's Books and Their Creators
This volume introduces readers to books that inform, impress, and excite young readers. Included are entries on authors and illustrators, essays on social and historical issues, and reading lists by category.
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts
This third edition is a comprehensive look at research encompassing language arts education. The handbook explores issues regarding the learner, the learning context, historical and theoretical perspectives, assessment, and methods of research.
International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
This second edition includes a plethora of themes, genres, and approaches regarding children's literature, offering an international view.
Literature for Children: Contemporary Criticism
"Children's books . . . have been deeply influenced by the critical and cultural response to them." This reference includes the following sections: Ideology; Criticism: The State of the Art; Internationalism; Poetry, Response and Education; and Connections.
My Name in Books: A Guide to Character Names in Children's Literature
This is an alphabetical list of first names that correspond to characters in children's literature. Each entry lists bibliographic information and includes a brief annotation.
World of Work Through Children's Literature: An Integrated Approach
This is a presentation of activities that correspond to stories about various jobs. The intent of this collection is to integrate students' learning by offering hands-on activities that aid in constructing knowledge surrounding the "world of work."