FOOTNOTE format and examples:
1 Author's first name last name, Title of Book in Italics (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), inclusive pages.
2 Atul Gawande, Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End (London: Profile Books, 2014), 79-80.
3 Gawande, Being Mortal, 191.
BIBLIOGRAPHY format and example:
Author's last name, first name. Title of Book in Italics. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Gawande, Atul. Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End. London: Profile Books, 2014.
See Chicago Manual 17 - section 14.100
FOOTNOTE format and examples:
1 First author's first name last name and Second author's first name last name, Title of Book in Italics (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), inclusive pages.
2 Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman, A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life (New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015), 12.
3 Grazer and Fishman, Curious Mind, 190.
BIBLIOGRAPHY format and example:
First author's last name, first name, and Second author's first name last name. Title of Book in Italics. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life. New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015.
FOOTNOTE format and examples:
1 First author's first name last name, Second author's first name last name, and Third author's first name last name; Title of Book in Italics (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), inclusive pages.
2 Alexander Berkman, Henry Bauer, and Carl Nold, Prison Blossoms: Anarchist Voices from the American Past (Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press, 2011), 53.
3 Berkman, Bauer, and Nold, Prison Blossoms, 75.
BIBLIOGRAPHY format and example:
First author's last name, first name, Second author's first name last name, and Third author's first name last name. Title of Book in Italics. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Berkman, Alexander, Henry Bauer, and Carl Nold. Prison Blossoms: Anarchist Voices from the American Past. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press, 2011.
FOOTNOTE format and examples:
1 First author's first name last name et al., Title of Book in Italics (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), inclusive pages.
2 George Folsom et al., History of Libraries (Manchester, NH: Shapiro Library Press, 2017), 24.
3 Folsom et al., History of Libraries, 99.
BIBLIOGRAPHY format and example:
First author's last name, first name, Second author's first name last name, Third author's first name last name, and Fourth author's first name last name. Title of Book in Italics. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Folsom, George, Virginia Smith, Thomas Pepe, and Linda Burns. History of Libraries. Manchester, NH: Shapiro Library Press, 2017.
For books consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. For other types of e-books, name the format. If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the notes.
FOOTNOTE format and examples:
1 Author's first name last name, Title of Book in Italics (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), inclusive pages/chapter/section, Database/URL/format.
2 Brooke Borel, The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2016), 92, ProQuest Ebrary.
3 Borel, Fact-Checking, 104–5
4 Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (New York: Penguin Classics, 2007), chap. 3, Kindle.
5 Austen, Pride and Prejudice, chap. 14.
BIBLIOGRAPHY format and examples:
Author's last name, first name. Title of Book in Italics. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle.
Borel, Brooke. The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2016. ProQuest Ebrary.
FOOTNOTE format and examples:
1 Editor's first name last name, ed. Title of Book in Italics (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), inclusive pages.
2 Mary Erler and Maryanne Kowaleski, eds. Women and Power in the Middle Ages (Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1988), 273-34.
3 Erler and Kowaleski, Women and Power, 302.
BIBLIOGRAPHY format and example:
Editor's last name, first name, ed. Title of Book in Italics. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Erler, Mary, and Maryanne Kowaleski, eds. Women and Power in the Middle Ages. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1988.
FOOTNOTE format and examples:
1 Author's first name last name, Title of Book in Italics, trans. Translator's first name last name (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), inclusive pages.
2 Jhumpa Lahiri, In Other Words, trans. Ann Goldstein (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016), 146.
3 Lahiri, In Other Words, 184.
BIBLIOGRAPHY format and example:
Author's last name, first name. Title of Book in Italics. Translated by Translator's first name last name. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Lahiri, Jhumpa. In Other Words. Translated by Ann Goldstein. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.
FOOTNOTE format and examples:
1 Author's first name last name, "Title of Chapter in Quotation Marks," in Title of Book in Italics, ed. Editor's first name last name (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), inclusive pages.
2 Henry David Thoreau, “Walking,” in The Making of the American Essay, ed. John D’Agata (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 177–78.
3 Thoreau, "Walking," 182.
BIBLIOGRAPHY format and example:
Author's last name, first name. "Title of Chapter in Quotation Marks." In Title of Book in Italics, edited by Editor's first name last name, inclusive pages. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Thoreau, Henry David. “Walking.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, 167–95. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016
FOOTNOTE format and examples:
1 Author's first name last name, Title of Book in Italics, edition. (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), inclusive pages.
2 Amy Einsohn, The Copyeditor's Handbook: A Guide for Book Publishing and Corporate Communications, with Exercises and Answer Keys, 3rd ed. (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2011), 401-2.
3 Einsohn, The Copyeditor's Handbook, 455.
BIBLIOGRAPHY format and example:
Author's last name, first name. Title of Book in Italics. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Einsohn, Amy. The Copyeditor's Handbook: A Guide for Book Publishing and Corporate Communications, with Exercises and Answer Keys. 3rd ed. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2011.
FOOTNOTE format and examples:
1 Author's first name last name, Title of Book in Italics (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), volume #: inclusive pages.
2 Muriel St. Clare Byrne, ed., The Lisle Letters (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1981), 4:243.
3 Byrne, Lisle Letters, 4:245.
BIBLIOGRAPHY format and example:
Author's last name, first name. Title of Book in Italics. Vol. #. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Byrne, Muriel St. Clare, ed. The Lisle Letters. Vol. 4. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1981.
FOOTNOTE format and examples:
1 Author's first name last name, "Title of Dissertation or Thesis in Quotation Marks" (PhD diss. or MA thesis, Institution, Year of publication), inclusive pages.
2 Cynthia Lillian Rutz, “King Lear and Its Folktale Analogues” (PhD diss., University of Chicago, 2013), 99–100.
3 Rutz, "King Lear, 158.
BIBLIOGRAPHY format and example:
Author's last name, first name. "Title of Dissertation or Thesis in Quotation Marks." PhD diss. or MA thesis, Institution, Year of publication.
Rutz, Cynthia Lillian. “King Lear and Its Folktale Analogues.” PhD diss., University of Chicago, 2013.