Handbook of Applied Behavior Analysis by John Austin (Editor); James Carr (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) is a highly functional discipline that, instead of searching for abstract, internal causes for human behavior, looks to external factors that can be influenced. Once identified, these factors can be manipulated to make meaningful, positive improvements in the lives of real people through positive behavior change. Not surprisingly behavior analysis has been applied to a wide range of human activities, from helping troubled teens to organizing industry to maximizing sports performance. ABA interventions for these diverse problems are often creative -- and they tend to be effective. In this volume, some of the field's foremost practitioners offer their expert perspective on a range of topics within ABA. Each chapter is fully referenced and contains a set of reading objectives to facilitate deeper understanding and further discussion of its subject area. While these discussions will be of particular interest to academic behavior analysts and graduate students, clinicians and other practitioners will find the research review helpful and informative.
Understanding Applied Behavior Analysis by Albert J. Kearney
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Territory World 'Understanding applied behaviour analysis is a book that I have been waiting for, for quite some time. It is easy to read, factually correct, scientifically rigorous, and not to long (116 pages, including index). I enjoyed reading it and I will be recommending it to my students.' - British Journal of Social Work Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) is based on the premise that behavior can be influenced by changes in environment and by the reinforcing consequences of that behavior. This introductory guide to ABA demystifies the basic terminology, the underlying principles, and commonly-used procedures of ABA using accessible, everyday language. Albert J. Kearney explains the kinds of learning and reinforcement processes that form the basis of ABA programs. Having covered these essential principles, he describes how the science of behavior analysis can be effectively applied to real life behavior problems. He looks at how behavior is assessed and various intervention techniques that are often employed with children who have autism and other special needs. Having laid these essential foundations, Kearney touches on more advanced topics: the applications of ABA in behavioral education, such as precision teaching and programmed instruction. Clear, accessible, and with a structure that is easy-to-follow, this book is an essential introduction to the discipline of ABA and its applications for parents and professionals.
The Parent's Guide to in-Home ABA Programs by Elle Olivia Johnson
Publication Date: 2012-11-15
What is Applied Behavior Analysis? What will happen when an ABA therapist comes into my home? Most importantly, how can ABA help my child? This quick guide answers all of the common questions that parents have when beginning an in-home ABA program. ABA is an effective intervention for children with autism and other developmental disorders, but all of the data collection, reinforcement, and strange lingo can be confusing for parents who are not familiar with ABA therapy. Concise and practical, this handbook explains the ins and outs of Applied Behavior Analysis in a chatty question and answer format addressing everything parents need to know from what a typical session will entail, to how to navigate their relationship with their therapist, to how to get more involved and begin using ABA methods themselves. This book is an ideal introduction for parents to help them understand and get the most out of their child's ABA treatment. It will also be a useful resource for newly-qualified ABA therapists and for ABA agencies to use with clients.
Apa Handbook of Behavior Analysis by Gregory J. Madden (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-08-13
Behaviour analysis emerged from the nonhuman laboratories of B. F. Skinner, Fred Keller, Nate Schoenfeld, Murray Sidman, James Dinsmoor, Richard Herrnstein, Nate Azrin, and others who pioneered experimental preparations designed to do one thing -- find orderly relations between environment and behaviour. This bottom-up approach to a natural science of behaviour yielded a set of behavioural principles that proved orderly and replicable across subjects, laboratories, and species. By the 1960s, behaviour analysts began translating these principles into interventions for institutionalised humans characterised by impoverished repertoires of adaptive behaviour. When these interventions proved successful in replacing problem- with adaptive-behaviour, the field of Applied Behaviour Analysis was born. Over the last 50 years the field of behaviour analysis has grown substantially both in the number of practicing behaviour analysts and the range of behaviour to which behavioural principles have been applied. Today the laboratory study of basic principles of behaviour continues to expand our understanding of behaviour and to inform the treatment of disorders ranging from autism to substance abuse. The present volumes continue this inductive translational approach to the science of behaviour analysis by providing overview and in-depth chapters spanning the breadth of behaviour analysis. Volume I: Methods and Principles provides comprehensive coverage of the logic, clinical utility, and methods of single-case research designs. Chapters walk the reader through the design, data collection, and data analysis phases and are appropriate for students, researchers, and clinicians concerned with best practice. Volume I also provides an overview of the experimental analysis of behaviour, and chapters reviewing some of the most important areas of contemporary laboratory research in behaviour analysis. Topics covered include memory, attention, choice, behavioural neuroscience, and behavioural pharmacology. Volume II: Translating Principles into Practice includes 10 chapters illustrating how principles of behaviour discovered in basic-science laboratories have provided insights on socially important human behaviour ranging from the complex discriminations that underlie human language to disorders treated by clinical psychologists. The second section of Volume II includes 12 chapters, each devoted to a particular behavioural/developmental disorder (e.g., behavioural treatments of ADHD, autism) or to behaviour of societal importance (e.g., effective college teaching, effective treatment of substance abuse). Each of these chapters provides a review of what works and where additional research is needed.
Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy by Michel Hersen
Publication Date: 2005-01-25
The three-volume Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy provides a thorough examination of the components of behavior modification, behavior therapy, cognitive behavior therapy, and applied behavior analysis for both child and adult populations in a variety of settings. Although the focus is on technical applications, entries also provide the historical context in which behavior therapists have worked, including research issues and strategies. Entries on assessment, ethical concerns, theoretical differences, and the unique contributions of key figures in the movement (including B. F. Skinner, Joseph Wolpe, Aaron T. Beck, and many others) are also included. No other reference source provides such comprehensive treatment of behavior modification--history, biography, theory, and application. Key Features Three thematic volumes and over 430 total entries Five anchor articles in each volume provide context on major issues within the field Key words and lists of suggested readings follow each entry Contributions by internationally renowned authors from England, Germany, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the United States
Clinician's Guide to Helping Children Cope and Cooperate with Medical Care by Keith J. Slifer
Publication Date: 2013-12-01
Keith J. Slifer, a pediatric psychologist at the Kennedy Krieger Institute and the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, explores how adults can help children cope with routine and traumatic medical care. He draws on practice and research to help health care practitioners provide better care for children with chronic conditions and children undergoing rehabilitation after traumatic injury or surgery. By better understanding the behavior, emotions, and developmental challenges of children, health care professionals in practice and in training can solve a range of problems, from getting a distressed child to cooperate with a physical examination or diagnostic test, to teaching a child to adhere to medical self-care. More than 9 million children in the United States regularly visit health care professionals for treatment of chronic or recurrent health conditions. These children experience multiple doctors' visits, trips to the emergency department, hospital admissions, anesthesia, surgery, medications, needle sticks, wound cleaning, seizures, nausea, vomiting, pain, and fear. While most of these children are developing typically in terms of their intellectual and cognitive functioning, many children with intellectual, developmental, and physical disabilities also require frequent medical care, and as chronic health conditions increase, so do the chances of having developmental, learning, emotional, and behavioral problems. A Clinician's Guide to Helping Children Cope and Cooperate with Medical Care will benefit health care professionals and children as practitioners aim both to improve medical care and to prevent the children's behavior from disrupting clinics and distressing and frustrating health care workers and family caregivers. This book is for pediatric psychologists, pediatricians, family medicine practitioners, physician's assistants, nurse specialists, pediatric subspecialists, and students in these fields--and for family members dedicated to helping their children cope with medical procedures and to getting the best possible medical care.
Behavioral Disorders by Jeffrey P. Bakken (Editor); Festus E. Obiakor (Editor); Anthony F. Rotatori (Editor, Series edited by)
Publication Date: 2012-01-04
Along with Volume 22 of the same series, this book addresses the most current perspectives and issues related to behaviour disorders and it involves leaders in the behaviour disorders field. This books specifically addresses practice concerns and students with EBD. This book is organized to allow readers to follow behavioural disorders in a very logical and thoughtful process. Topics addressed include inclusion, social skills training, effective instruction, response-to-intervention, transition, technology finally ending with working families, and teacher preparation. Chapters can be read in order or independently since they have considerable versatility. We feel that this volume of "Advances in Special Education" will be an excellent resource for special education professionals who teach and serve students with behavioural disorders.
A Brief Guide to Autism Treatments by Elisabeth Hollister Sandberg; Nicolas D. Taylor (Contribution by); Joseph C. Viola (Contribution by); Becky L. Spritz; Kristen L. Batejan (Contribution by); Katherine K. Bedard (Contribution by); Kirsten Brown Birtwell (Contribution by); Malorie L. Dimler (Contribution by); Mary Beth McCullough (Contribution by); Susan E. Michelson (Contribution by); Jill Myerow Bloom (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2012-10-15
The number of intervention options available for children with autism can be overwhelming for parents. This book provides brief, user-friendly descriptions of the most commonly publicized treatments for autism, summarizing the available information in an objective and accessible way. Each short chapter covers a single treatment from Applied Behavior Analysis to Gluten-Free Casein-Free diets, as well as lesser known therapies such as Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy. Each includes a definition and description; a summary of the prevailing information gleaned from popular press; an explanation of what the science says; and an idea of potential costs to parents and schools. This straight-talking and practical guide will allow parents of newly-diagnosed children, as well as any professionals working alongside them, to sift through the avalanche of advice and make their own informed choices about treatment.
Video Modelling and Behaviour Analysis by Christos Nikopoulos; Mickey Keenan; Sandy Hobbs (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2006-06-15
Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA) is a successful educational method for developing social and communication skills in children with autism. The use of video modelling in ABA programmes has demonstrated great effectiveness in teaching behavioural skills to autistic children, and this book explains how and why. Video modelling is an easy-to-use behaviour modification technique that uses videotaped rather than 'live' scenarios for the child to observe, concentrating the focus of attention for the child with autism and creating a highly effective stimulus for learning. Video Modelling and Behaviour Analysis provides a practical introduction to the technique, its objectives, strategies for use and evidence of its success. Illustrative case examples are supported by detailed diagrams and photographs, with clear, accessible explanations. Video Modelling and Behaviour Analysis will be a welcome addition to the practical literature on autism interventions for parents of autistic children and the professionals working with them.
Children and Autism by Ennio Cipani
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Children and Autism presents seven heartwarming and compelling stories of children who have triumphed over the challenge of autism. These are not stories of easy or simple remedies but in the end in each instance the child is indistinguishable from their same-age peers. Parents can draw hope and inspiration from these stories while also realizing that dedication, hard work, and perseverance are key elements to success. While these seven stories are the heart and soul of the book, Children and Autism is more than that. The book opens with a section on what autism and applied behavior analysis are. It closes with a comprehensive resource section that helps parent locate ABA resources, provides definitions, and offers advice on applying practices in the home. Children and Autism is also a celebration of progress in treating autism using ABA. The book provides parents with a model that they can identify with, cheer on, and draw hope and inspiration from.