Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

MLA Citation Style, 8th Edition

This guide will provide rules and examples for using MLA citation style.

Scholarly Article in a Database - with DOI

For scholarly articles accessed electronically in a database, provide the print information and then list the database and the DOI (digital object identifier) if the article has one or the URL. 

DOI Example:

Walshe, Rory A. and Charlotte Eloise Stancioff. "Small Island Perspectives on Climate Change." Island Studies Journal, vol. 13, no. 1, May 2018, pp. 13-24. Academic Search Complete, doi:10.24043/isj.56.

 

Scholarly Article in a Database - without DOI

If the article in the database does not have a DOI, use a URL.

For URLs from a database, be sure to copy the stable URL or "permalink" as those do not change and will remain active. Databases normally have a way to access those links -- and they are different-- from the links in your browser.

URL Example:

Hannah, Daniel K. "The Private Life, the Public Stage: Henry James in Recent Fiction." Journal of Modern Literature, vol.30, no. 3, 2007, pp. 70-94. JSTOR, www.jstor.org.ezproxy.lib.uwf.edu/stable/30053134.

Note: When including a URL, omit the http:// and https://

Scholarly Article from a Website

When citing an article from a website, include the URL (without the http://) and the date you accessed it, in case the link becomes broken in the future.

Example:

Wilner, Arlene. "Confronting Resistance: Sonny's Blues and Mine." Pedagogy, vol. 2, no. 2, 1 Spring 2002, pp. 173-96, read.dukeupress.edu/pedagogy/article/2/2/173/29255/Confronting-Resistance-Sonny-s-Blues-and-Mine. Accessed 5 July 2018.

Scholarly Article in a Print Journal

Format:

A print article is formatted the same as an online article from a database minus the database and URL.

Example:

Hannah, Daniel K. "The Private Life, the Public Stage: Henry James in Recent Fiction." Journal of Modern Literature, vol.30, no.3, 2007, pp. 70-94.