LibGuides: Graduate Student Library Guide: Education and other related databases

Education

Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database covers almost 400 leading journals in the field. Nearly all of them offer articles in the three most popular formats - ASCII full text, full image and Text+Graphics.
Education Source (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals (over 2,000), this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (upgraded from Education Abstracts with Full Text)
Elementary In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
ERIC (USDE) This link opens in a new window
ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included (65% of ERIC documents are available full text).
K-8 eBook Collection (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes e-books for K-8 students and the educators who work with them. The eBook K-8 Collection contains more than 14,000 titles chosen to support a quality learning experience for K-8 students across all subject areas taught in elementary and middle schools, and content aligns with Common Core Curriculum Standards (for participating U.S. states). The collection also features a selection of teacher resources to support educators and administrators.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full text access to over 400 top psychology and related publications.
PsycNet (APA) This link opens in a new window
formerly known as PsycINFO, this abstract database provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
Teacher Reference Center (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals. Teacher Reference Center provides many subjects for teachers needs, including: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts and Literacy Standards.

Psychology

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other.
PsycARTICLES (Full Text) (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text articles from 52 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycBOOKS (Full Text) (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Full text in PDF of 1,682 scholarly books and 25,899 chapters. 767 books published by APA, including 100 out-of-print books from 1950–2002. 915 classic resources in psychology.
Psychology Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full text access to over 400 top psychology and related publications.
PsycNet (APA) This link opens in a new window
formerly known as PsycINFO, this abstract database provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
PTSDpubs (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PTSD pubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.

Diversity & Gender Studies

African American Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Over 270 African American newspapers published between 1827 and 1998.
American Indian Histories and Cultures - Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Black Freedom Struggle Primary Source Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
In this website, the editors present primary source documents from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom.
Chicano Database (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
The database provides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics and sociology.
Civil Rights and Social Justice (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
Diversity Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Gender Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family, and marital issues, LGBTQ community, and more.
Gender Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of international journals,magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
LGBTQ+ Rights (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections, whose areas of focus constitute Marriage and Family, Employment Discrimination, Military Service, AIDS and Health Care, and Public Spaces and Accommodations, and Historical Attitudes and Analysis.
Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century, 1636-1880 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This module from ProQuest's History Vault documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade. In addition to records on the slave trade, this module also includes letters received by the Attorney General on law and order in 19th century America. These letters cover the slave trade, general slavery matters including runaway slaves and rights of slaves, and other legal issues.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Periodicals, scholarly articles and the UNC archival collection.

General / Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offering more than 1100 highly-regarded titles from over 120 publishers, Credo covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - X Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Project Muse - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers full-text access to journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search all Proquest databases subscribed by UWF at the same time.
Sage Skills: Student Success This link opens in a new window
Sage Skills Student Success empowers students to develop and practice the academic and personal skills necessary to successfully transition to campus life and enable lifelong learning. With more than 1,100 skill topics across ten comprehensive modules, this interactive digital resource provides a flexible and engaging learning journey through self-assessments, interactive scenarios, downloadable exercises, original videos, and more.

Health Sciences

CINAHL Ultimate (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Over 5000 reviews of research on medical treatments, practices, and diagnostic tests are provided in this database. Cochrane Reviews is the premier resource for Evidence Based Practice.
Health and Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Health and Medicine Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in Health Reference Center plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals
Health and Wellness Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
The Health and Wellness Resource Center provides full text information from medical dictionaries, encyclopedias, journals, and other resources. This comprehensive health database covers most areas of sports medicine.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Health Management™ is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including: Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Health economics, Public health administration.
MEDLINE (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 28 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
MTS Medtraining Lab Training Library This link opens in a new window
Multimedia demonstrations of clinical laboratory procedures.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of over 1000 journals (875 are full text) in nursing and other health professions. Over 12000 full text dissertations are included.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.
PsycNet (APA) This link opens in a new window
formerly known as PsycINFO, this abstract database provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
Public Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
"With journals, news, trade publications, reports and more, ProQuest Public Health covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public-health terminology."
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive electronic collection of scholarly science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Social Work Abstracts (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Web of Science (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science contains several databases:
-Web of Science Core Collection
-Biological Abstracts
-KCI-Korean Journal Database
-MEDLINE
-Preprint Citation Index
-ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index
-SciELO Citation Index