Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

ENC 1102 (Powell - NWFSC): English Composition II: Finding Articles & Other Information

Guide to doing research on selected short stories using the resources of UWF Emerald Coast Library and the Northwest Florida State College Learning Resources Center.

UWF Emerald Coast Library

Our Hours

Fall Semester Hours

Mon - Thurs       8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 5 pm
Saturday 1 pm - 5 pm
Sunday CLOSED
Click for Special Hours

 

  • Face coverings are encouraged but not required.
  • Physical distancing is encouraged but will not be enforced.  
  • Please respect the health safety needs of others.

What is a Database?

Use databases to search for journal and magazine articles, encyclopedia and other reference work entries, statistics and other types of information!

NWFSC Databases

For this assignment, we recommend you use the following databases, selected from the "Literature" section of the Northwest Florida State College databases:

Remember, the authors and stories for your assignment are:

  • Chopin, Kate. "Story of an Hour."
  • Lawrence, D.H. "The Rocking Horse Winner."
  • Maupassant, Guy de. "The Necklace."
  • Updike, John. "A&P."

UWF Databases

John UpdikeIf you are in the Emerald Coast Library, you are welcome to use UWF's online databases on the UWF computers!

For this assignment, we recommend you use the following UWF databases:

NOTE: If you have a UWF Nautilus Card through the NWF2UWF program, you may also access these databases from off-campus using your Nautilus Card number and birthdate (MMYY).

What If It's Not Full-Text?

You might find a result in your database search that does not have the full-text of the article attached to it. 

You want the article!  But what do you do?

In the NWFSC databases, look for a link that says "Find Text?" or "Full Text Finder" or, in the UWF databases, look for this icon:

Then click on it to see if the full-text of the article might be available in another database:

If the article still isn't available in full-text, you'll be able to check to see if the library owns the journal it was printed in - or you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Instruction Survey

[Question Mark] Did you attend the class where the librarian showed you how to use these resources?

Please give us your review of the class here: https://tinyurl.com/ENC1102-ECLibrary

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Paul Williford
Contact:
UWF Emerald Coast Library
1170 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd
Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547-3068
Phone: 850-863-6577
Email: williford@uwf.edu

Ask Us!

Telephone: 850-863-6578

Email the Librarian: williford@uwf.edu

or ... Send Us Your Question:

 

Your Email Address (required):

Your Name:

Your Phone Number: