Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

PLA 3106: Legal Research & Writing

This guide is dedicated to the Legal Research and Writing course.

Steps to Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list to the right (e.g., Legal Periodicals Fulltext)

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates. type of resources, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use  or SFX to link to full text articles available in other databases

Journals

Print and online journal titles are listed in the library catalog and in the e-journal list.

Print journals are located on the second floor of the library and are shelved by call number.

Request the article from Interlibrary Loan if it is not available at UWF

Articles are delivered electronically from libraries owning the journal

Databases

Legal Research Introduction

The following videos were developed for the Legal Research and Writing Course at the University of West Florida and describe the fundamental resources in law. They have been made accessible courtesy of Susan W. Harrell, the instructor of the course:

US Reports
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/10th/

Federal Reporter
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/2nd/

Fed Supplements
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/3rd/

FL Case Law
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/4th/

Fed Statutes
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/5th/

FL Statutes
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/6th/

Digests & ALR
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/7th/

Encyclopedias
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/8th/

Administrative Law
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/9th/

Managing Citations

Use Zotero to manage citations from journals, books, documents, and internet sites.

First time users will need to create an account which will permit a user to store citations indefinitely for repeated use. 

Once records are in Zotero, they can be added to folders, and bibliographies can be created in a preferred style.

Use the Zotero Guide to learn more about this useful database.