LibGuides: SOW 5106: Human Behavior and the Social Environment II: Finding Articles

Steps to Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list below (either OneSearch or one of the Social Work specific databases)

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use to link to full text articles available in other databases

Check the list of ejournals and the library catalog to make sure UWF does not own the journal you need

OneSearch (Includes articles, books, DVDs, music, etc.) (PrimoVE)

Social Work

Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index and full text databases on the social sciences, including politics, sociology, education and criminal justice. This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals.
Social Work Abstracts (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

Google Scholar

Searching Google Scholar allows you to limit your search to scholarly literature: articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, etc.

Set Google Scholar to link to UWF Libraries resources:

Click Settings in Google Scholar
Click Library Links
Type University of West Florida into the box and search
Check the UWF boxes
Click the blue SAVE button to save these settings

Remember, you need to be logged in through Remote Access to access these resources from off-campus.

Watch this brief video for help using Google Scholar:

Articles not at UWF

If you need an article that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan at no cost.

Articles are delivered electronically to your ILL account, and you will notified when they are received. Most articles are received in about 24 hours, but it can take up to 5 days.

For more information, watch this brief Interlibrary Loan video