For information on how to locate books in the library, use the Locating Books guide.
UWF students who live over 50 miles from the UWF campus may request that books be delivered by mail.
Search Library Catalog
Search for physical materials in our collection.
UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions and usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.
Make sure you log in with your Argonet credentials in the top right corner of the Primo VE page. Select Statewide Catalog from the dropdown menu in the search box. Use the UBorrow Request link in the catalog record, then click the green Send button at the bottom of the submission form. You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk.
The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal. UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals. Select My Loans from the dropdown menu in your profile, then click Renew. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or a request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information Desk.
Notes and Reminders:
UBorrow - Statewide Union Catalog
Search for materials across all 40 Florida state universities and public colleges.
If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will be notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.
To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat (in Databases A-Z list), a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.
For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.
Watch this brief video for help using the library catalog:
You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.
We have over 160,000 ebooks in our collections. Links to many of these titles are included in OneSearch and the library catalog, but you may also search online book collections directly.
A good resource for background information about a topic is CREDO. Think of it as a "scholarly Wikipedia."
There are over 600 reference titles available in CREDO, our online reference database. Many are specifically related to Roman history, including:
The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog.
Guide to the Sources of Medieval History. (Ref. D 117 .C2213)
Guide to The Study of Medieval History. (Ref. Z6203 .P25)
Introduction to Ancient History. (Z 6202 B413)
Civilization of The Ancient Mediterranean: Greece And Rome. (Ref. DE59 .C55)
A Dictionary of Ancient History. (Ref. DE5 .D53 1994)
Dictionary of the Middle Ages. (Ref. D114 .D5)
The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 1996. (Ref. DE 5 O9 1996)
The Cambridge Ancient History. (Ref. D57 .C252)
The Cambridge Medieval History. (Ref. D117 .C3)
The New Cambridge Medieval History. (Ref. D 17 .N48 1995)