Skip to Main Content
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

STEM

Library resources for STEM (science, technology, engineering, math).

General Database

OneSearch

 

Help! I Can't Find the Full Text!

If a database does not have the article you need, click on LinkSource or to link to a resource that provides full text. If there are no links to accessible full text options, use the Interlibrary Loan service to request an online copy of the article from a library that owns the journal. (This is a fast, free service.)

Top Databases: Getting Started with STEM

In addition to OneSearch, check out the following databases if you are getting started with research. You can also look at subject specific databases for the sciences through our A-Z database list!

Types of Resources: Scholarly, Popular, Academic

Figuring out whether or not an article is scholarly/academic or popular can be tricky. Here are some clues to help you out.

Clues that is might be scholarly:

  • Written for an academic audience or written by an academic audience
  • May come from a journal (look at the publication information)
  • May contain an abstract, introduction, literature review, methods, discussion, conclusion section

Clues that it might be academic, but not scholarly:

  • Website ends in a ".edu"
  • It is not scholarly if it does not meet the criteria mentioned in the above section
  • Remember: Information can still be credible and academic, but that does not mean it's scholarly

Clues that it might be popular:

  • Written for a general audience so the language is not as elevated
  • Examples include Buzzfeed, Huffington Post, New York Times, Newpapers, Magazines, and Blogs

Examples:

Scholarly Not Scholarly Credible, but not Scholarly
Journal of Environmental Science National Geographic, 
New York Times
University websites (.edu)
Ecology Journal CNN, Fox News, PNJ Government Agencies (.gov)
Nature Research Forbes Professional Organization websites
(ex. AHRQ)

Still not sure? Ask a librarian for help!

STEM Databases