LibGuides: PSY 4990: History & Systems: Articles

Books and More

OneSearch

What is OneSearch? |Comments?

Comments (0) | Disable Box Comments

Steps to Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list to the right (e.g., PsycNET (APA))

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates. type of resources, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use to link to full text articles available in other databases

Articles not at UWF

Request the article from Interlibrary Loan if it is not available at UWF

Articles are delivered electronically from libraries owning the journal

You will be emailed when they articles are available

Interlibrary Loan is free and takes around 4 days for articles to arrive

Psychology Databases

PsycARTICLES (Full Text) (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text articles from 52 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycBOOKS (Full Text) (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Full text in PDF of 1,682 scholarly books and 25,899 chapters. 767 books published by APA, including 100 out-of-print books from 1950–2002. 915 classic resources in psychology.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete full text access to over 400 top psychology and related publications.
PsycNet (APA) This link opens in a new window
formerly known as PsycINFO, this abstract database provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.

Databases

Journal articles dealing with psychology can be found in the following related databases:

Social Work Abstracts (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
LexisNexis Academic (Now Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

General / Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offering more than 1100 highly-regarded titles from over 120 publishers, Credo covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - X Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Project Muse - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers full-text access to journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search all Proquest databases subscribed by UWF at the same time.
Sage Skills: Student Success This link opens in a new window
Sage Skills Student Success empowers students to develop and practice the academic and personal skills necessary to successfully transition to campus life and enable lifelong learning. With more than 1,100 skill topics across ten comprehensive modules, this interactive digital resource provides a flexible and engaging learning journey through self-assessments, interactive scenarios, downloadable exercises, original videos, and more.

Full Text Newspapers

Numerous newspapers are purchased in print form on a daily basis. These "hard copies" are available on the library's 2nd floor. Full text reproductions or facsimiles of newspapers articles are available in two additional formats, as online databases and as microfilm. They can be current or found in an archive of historic materials.

Newspapers can be searched by title in the library's catalog and by title in the databases. A list of the library's newspaper holdings can be retrieved by using Advanced Catalog Search and selecting newspapers in the Format option. This list is not exhaustive however, since this list does not retrieve all newspaper formats.

Online Databases

Databases can be accessed by clicking the Databases link on the library's homepage.

Pensacola News Journal http://www.pnj.com
Selected content is available free online. This is a free website and not an official UWF database.

Pensacola News Journal http://www.pqarchiver.com
This free site indexes the PNJ back to 2002, but does not include full text.

New York Times, 1999-present
New York Times Archive, 1851-2009

LexisNexis Academic

ProQuest NewsStand

Many additional databases cover newspapers. However, ProQuest NewsStand is devoted solely to newspapers, and LexisNexis Academic includes a section that is devoted solely to newspapers.

Microfilm

New York Times, 1887-2005, Microfilm 91, 2nd floor.
A print index must be used to identify relevant articles. See Indexes tab.

The Times (London), 1788-present, Microfilm #505, 2nd floor.
The Times is indexed online from 1906 to 1980.

Pensacola News Journal, 1985-present, print and microfilm formats are available on the library's 2nd floor.
Daily hard copy issues are retained until replaced by Microfilm #89. Issues older than one month are shelved in the Serials Department until microfilm is received. Formed by union of Pensacola News and Pensacola Journal.

Pensacola News, 1955-1985, Microfilm #89, 2nd floor.
Merged with Pensacola Journal to form Pensacola News Journal.

Pensacola Journal, 1905-1985, Microfilm #89, 2nd floor.
Merged with Pensacola News to form Pensacola News Journal.