Skip to Main Content
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

ENC 1101 (Powell - NWFSC): English Composition I: Finding Articles & Other Information

Guide to doing research on the Victorian authors using the resources of UWF Emerald Coast Library and the Northwest Florida State College Learning Resources Center.

UWF Emerald Coast Library

What is a Database?

Use databases to search for journal and magazine articles, encyclopedia and other reference work entries, statistics and other types of information!

NWFSC Databases

For this assignment, we recommend you use the following databases, selected from the "Literature" section of the Northwest Florida State College databases:

Remember, the Victorian authors for your assignment are:





NOTE: To access these databases from home, you'll be prompted to log in with your RaiderNet email address and password.

UWF Databases

If you are in the Emerald Coast Library, you are welcome to use UWF's online databases on the UWF computers!

For this assignment, we recommend you use the following UWF databases:

NOTE: If you have a UWF Nautilus Card through the NWF2UWF program, you may also access these databases from off-campus using your Nautilus Card number and birthdate (MMYY).

What If It's Not Full-Text?

You might find a result in your database search that does not have the full-text of the article attached to it. 

You want the article!  But what do you do?

In the NWFSC databases, look for a link that says "LINCCWeb Find Text?" or, in the UWF databases, look for this icon:

Then click on it to see if the full-text of the article might be available in another database:

If the article still isn't available in full-text, you'll be able to check to see if the library owns the journal it was printed in - or you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Instruction Survey

[Question Mark] Did you attend the class where the librarian showed you how to use these resources?

Please give us your review of the class here: https://tinyurl.com/ENC1101-ECLibrary