Skip to Main Content
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Argo Scholar Commons

What is the Argo Scholar Commons?

The Argo Scholar Commons (ASC) serves two purposes. It contains researcher profiles which provide information about faculty, their research, and scholarly works. And at the same time it is the online repository where a community (in this case, the University of West Florida) gathers, preserves, and showcases scholarly output produced by its members and makes these materials available to the world (copyright permitting). This output may include both publications in peer-reviewed journals and materials not published elsewhere (datasets, pre-prints, post-prints, performance recordings, syllabi, posters, theses and dissertations, book chapters, posters, videos etc). 

Unlike a personal website, we can help UWF faculty members manage their materials in a central location, in standardized formats, and in ways that allow for more effective search, retrieval, and long-term, digital preservation.

 

 

Ex Libris. (2021). Make Your Research Shine: Esploro Overview for Faculty. https://youtu.be/yq_Cijiy7BA

Do all faculty have profiles, and how do I edit mine?

All faculty are encouraged to have profiles. To get started, please complete & submit our online authorization form. If you would like more information or have questions, please contact Andii Johnson (ajohnson@uwf.edu) or Cindy Gruwell (cgruwell@uwf.edu). 

All faculty start with a basic profile that has contact information, much like departmental web pages. Once we receive your authorization form and activate your profile, you can log in and start editing. We have developed a user's guide to help you thru building your profile. Profile information may be updated when warranted.  Your research output is on a separate page and includes works harvested from databases and Google Scholar.

Please see the user guide for more information.

 

Is there a user guide?

Yes, the Argo Scholar Commons has two guides.

 

Who and what types of work can I submit?

Anyone with a UWF research affiliation including faculty, staff, and students can submit materials. Faculty and staff may do this through through their researcher profile in the ASC Research Portal. We are interested in a wide variety of materials including peer-reviewed materials, teaching and learning objects, presentations, performances, data, lab experiment procedures, posters, conference papers, and many other products of original research and academic creativity.

Student works are submitted by faculty or staff affiliated with the research being conducted as part of a class, project, conference, symposium, etc. Some departments have collections for outstanding student works. If you would like more information or have questions about getting student works into the Argo Scholar Commons, please contact Cindy Gruwell (cgruwell@uwf.edu). 

Faculty profiles are also smart harvested in the ProQuest databases inorder to find pasrt and current published works.  Please keep in mind that this process does not capture all your works such as conferences, presentations, video, reports, posters, and other creative works.

Please Note: We will place a link directly to your article(s) if they are published as Open Access

 

What about my publisher?

Generally speaking, publisher's do not allow authors to submit the Version of Record or publisher's pdf to institutional repositories, unless the work is published open access (OA).But even OA works sometimes must be embargoed for a period of time.  All publishers allow you to submit your original work to your institution's repository, and most publishers allow you to submit your Author's Accepted Manuscript (AAM).

If you have not yet signed a publication agreement, we encourage you to find out your publisher/journal’s self-archiving policy before signing. Some publishers already have self-archiving permission as a standard feature of their agreements. If yours doesn’t, or is too restrictive, consider adding a standard publication addendum, with which many publishers are already familiar. SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition) has a short write-up on copyright management and your rights as an author.

Items placed in the repository retain their assigned copyrights. ASC does not assign copyrights. But unpublished can be assigned Creative Commons licenses. These licenses are applied by the author or creator to authorize how their work may be used and shared keeping in mind permission agreements, applicable licenses, publisher policies, or public domain status (Allison, 2019).

Allison, D. et al.  "UNL Libraries Deposit Programs". (2019). Collection Development Policies -- UNL  Libraries. 68. https://digitalcommons.unl.edu/librarycolldev/68 

For more information see our Copyright, Fair Use, and more & the Scholarly Communication Guides

How are pre-prints and post-prints defined?

A pre-print manuscript refers to the version of the article submitted for acceptance.

The AAM or Author's Accepted Manuscript is the version of the article after peer-reviews edits that the publisher formally accepts. The pages of an AAM have not been formatted in the publisher's/journal's template.

A post-print manuscript is a version of the article after peer-review and a first printing, like an author's copy of your manuscript.

The publisher’s copy is the version of your work the publisher releases to the public. It has been formatted to fit the journal's template with title placement, text, pager numbers, etc. and is usually in pdf form.

How is copyright handled?

The Argo Scholar Commons respects the copyrights of all publishers. We will review the copyrights for your works and share only what is allowed. For works that cannot be shared because of copyrights, we add the citation and appropriate metadata to your profile. Some works that cannot be physically added to the repository as an accessible file are still accessible to the UWF community because the library has a subscription to the journal or database in which they appear, and that access makes the work available in Esploro.  

ASC does not retain copyright nor assign Creative Commons licenses for any of the works in the repository.

For more information see our Copyright, Fair Use, and more & the Scholarly Communication Guides

Can material be removed?

The Argo Scholar Commons is a permanent repository providing an outward facing portal to access the wealth of

scholarship, creativity, and collaboration within the UWF community. While it is rare, removal of works from the Commons will

occur only at the request of the author, or for copyright violations, national security, plagiarism, or falsified research. A notation of

withdrawal will be placed in the record. Should you need to request that an item be removed, please contact Andii Johnson

(ajohnson4@uwf.edu).

Can I create a CV?

The Argo Scholar Commons contains a feature that allows you to create a CV in a number of formats. Learn ho to create a CV by watching the video below.

Are some resources unaccessible?

Due to Florida State statue (286.101, F.S.b) “Foreign country of concern” some countries resources will not be available for viewing.