LibGuides: SOW 3783: Human Trafficking: Journal Articles

One Search

The default search on the Library home page is One Search, which will search for books, articles and other resources in both the catalog and many databases. To search just the Catalog, select the Catalog tab. For additional search options, select the Advanced Search link.

Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list to the right.

Search the database with keywords and use filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use or to link to full text articles available in other databases

Check the list of ejournals and the library catalog to make sure UWF does not own the journal you need

If an article is not available at UWF, request it on Interlibrary Loan. Articles are delivered electronically free of charge, usually within a few days, from libraries owning the journal. You will be emailed when they articles are available.

Choosing a Database: A Tutorial

Watch the Choosing a Database Tutorial to find the best database for your topic/discipline:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired.

Using One Search: A Tutorial

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired.

Social Work

Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index and full text databases on the social sciences, including politics, sociology, education and criminal justice. This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals.
Social Work Abstracts (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Usage is limited to 4 users at a time.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - X Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.

Other Relevant Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale Group database for research in all academic disciplines. Combines indexing, abstracts, full text and images.
PsycARTICLES (Index Only) (APA) This link opens in a new window
A database of articles from 52 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycNet (APA) This link opens in a new window
formerly known as PsycINFO, this abstract database provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.