LibGuides: Health Sciences and Administration: Evidence Based Practice

Top Databases for EBP

CINAHL Ultimate (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive database to articles in nursing and other health related areas. Almost 3000 nursing and allied health journals are indexed in this database, nearly 1400 of them are available in full text. In addition you may access Evidence-Based Care Sheets.

CINAHL Searching Tip Shet

Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Over 5000 reviews of research on medical treatments, practices, and diagnostic tests are provided in this database. Cochrane Reviews is the premier resource for Evidence Based Practice.
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) This link opens in a new window
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is one of the world's leading evidence-based practice (EBP) organisations. JBI's evidence-based practice resources assist healthcare professionals to implement an effective evidence-based practice program to provide the best possible patient care. Systematic reviews, recommended practices, evidence summaries, and more.
MEDLINE (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 28 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of over 1000 journals (875 are full text) in nursing and other health professions. Over 12000 full text dissertations are included.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
OVID Journals (OVID) This link opens in a new window
This collection of unique scholarly nursing journals is provided in the OVID platform. Subjects range from alternative medicine to Perinatal nursing and full text coverage is included in the OVID subscription.
PsycNet (APA) This link opens in a new window
formerly known as PsycINFO, this abstract database provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
PTSDpubs (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PTSD pubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Note: Check the UWF Library EJournal Titles for items not available in full text, if not owned by our library then you may request an Inter Library Loan.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive electronic collection of scholarly science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Social Work Abstracts (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
Web of Science (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science contains several databases:
-Web of Science Core Collection
-Biological Abstracts
-KCI-Korean Journal Database
-MEDLINE
-Preprint Citation Index
-ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index
-SciELO Citation Index

Epistomonikos
A freely available database that; "Combines the best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions."
Sigma Repository
An open access repository of published and grey literature
Trip Database
A free database that identifies clinical evidence for clinical practice.

Need to know if we have a specific journal? Go to our EJOURNAL TITLES list and look it up!

If we don't have an article you need you can request it through InterLibrary Loan at no cost to you!

Evidence Based Health Journals

From the E-Journal list, you may access many evidence based journals. Here are some examples:

Evidence Based Review Sources

DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
This British database of reviews is provided by NHS Centre for Reviews
and Dissemination.
Evidence Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine
This journal is made freely available via PubMed.
Trip Database
A free database that identifies clinical evidence for clinical practice.
AHRQ - Evidence Based Research
"AHRQ's Effective Health Care program serves as the science partner with private-sector and public organizations in their efforts to improve the quality, effectiveness, and appropriateness of healthcare delivery in the United States and to expedite the translation of evidence-based research findings."
JAMA Evidence
JAMA Evidence helps health professionals "identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. "