For information on how to locate books in the library, use the Locating Books guide.
UWF students who live over 50 miles from the UWF campus may request that books be delivered by mail.
Search Library Catalog
Search for physical materials in our collection.
UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions and usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.
Make sure you log in with your Argonet credentials in the top right corner of the Primo VE page. Select Statewide Catalog from the dropdown menu in the search box. Use the UBorrow Request link in the catalog record, then click the green Send button at the bottom of the submission form. You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk.
The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal. UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals. Select My Loans from the dropdown menu in your profile, then click Renew. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or a request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information Desk.
Notes and Reminders:
UBorrow - Statewide Union Catalog
Search for materials across all 40 Florida state universities and public colleges.
If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will be notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.
To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat (in Databases A-Z list), a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.
For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.
We have over 160,000 ebooks in our collections. Links to many of these titles are included in OneSearch and the library catalog, but you may also search online book collections directly.
Reference & Research Guides
Handbook of Research Methods: A Guide for Practitioners and Students in the Social Sciences. 2nd edition. 2002. (Ref. Q 180 .55 M4 S67 2002)
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods. 2004. 3 volumes. (Ref. H 62 S34 2004)
Sociology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. 1997. (Ref. HM 51 A2) Social Research Methods
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology. 2000. (Ref. HM 425 J64 2000)
Dictionary of Demography. 1985. (Ref. HB 847 .2 P7413)
Encyclopedia of American Social History. 4 volumes. 1993. (Ref. HN 57 E58)
Encyclopedia of Marriage, Divorce, and the Family. 1989. (Ref. HQ 9 D38)
Encyclopedia of Modern American Social Issues. 1997. (Ref. HN 57 .K73)
Encyclopedia of Social Issues. 4 volumes. 1997. (Ref. HN 57 .E59)
Encyclopedia of Sociology. 4 volumes. 1991. (Ref. HM 17 E5)
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Sociology. 1991. (Ref HM 17 E529)
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (IESBS). 2001. (Ref. H 41 I58 2001 & available online)
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. 18 volumes. 1968. (Ref H 40 A2 I5)
Handbook of Clinical Sociology. 1991. (Ref. HM 73 H3515)
Handbook of American Popular Culture. 1978- (Ref. E 169 .1 H2643)
Police Misconduct in America: A Reference Handbook. 2001. (Ref. HV 8141 C44)
Survey of Social Science: Sociology Series. 5 volumes. 1994. (Ref. HM 17 .S86)