LibGuides: PLA 3020: Law and Society: Databases

Steps to Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list to the right (e.g., Legal Periodicals Fulltext)

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates. type of resources, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use or SFX to link to full text articles available in other databases

Journals

Print and online journal titles are listed in the library catalog and in the e-journal list.

Print journals are located on the second floor of the library and are shelved by call number.

Request the article from Interlibrary Loan if it is not available at UWF

Articles are delivered electronically from libraries owning the journal

Databases

Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
LegalTrac (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Indexes research in case law, government regulations, the practice of law, statutes, taxation and international law. Covers all major law reviews, and specialty law and bar association journals.
LexisNexis Academic (Now Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
WestLaw Next for Campus (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Access to primary and secondary legal resources including codes, statutes, cases and law reviews.

Legal Research Introduction

The following videos were developed for the Legal Research and Writing Course at the University of West Florida and describe the fundamental resources in law. They have been made accessible courtesy of Susan W. Harrell, the instructor of the course:

US Reports
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/10th/

Federal Reporter
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/2nd/

Fed Supplements
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/3rd/

FL Case Law
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/4th/

Fed Statutes
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/5th/

FL Statutes
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/6th/

Digests & ALR
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/7th/

Encyclopedias
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/8th/

Administrative Law
http://video.lib.uwf.edu/S/PLA3103/9th/