LibGuides: SPC 2608: Public Speaking: Finding Sources

Search OneSearch!

Hot Topics & Pro-Con Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Covers today's hottest social issues. Includes links to newspaper resources, scholarly articles, multi-media resources, and websites -- for a variety of perspectives on each topic.

Finding Statistics

Sometimes nothing backs up your points like a hard number or statistic. Below are some credible websites to find polling information and statistics.

Pew Research Center
American Community Survey
Government documents are deeper web than popular search engines and require more thought to find. When in doubt, always Ask a Librarian.
Gallup Poll
Polling Report
Census.gov Homepage

Newspaper Databases

Newspapers can be a good way to find information on a local topic. Be careful, however! Newspapers are NOT considered scholarly sources, so make sure you are allowed to use newspaper articles in your speech before you do so.

Newsstand (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Local and regional news coverage - newspapers.
New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the New York Times from 1980 to current.
Pensacola News Journal, 1999-current (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to the Pensacola News Journal in html format from 1999 to current. For page image access please see microfilm 89 or visit the University Archives. This link takes you to a search of southeast newspapers, including the PNJ.

Evaluating Internet Sources

Use the CRAAP test for evaluating websites:

C - currency
R - relevance
A - authority
A - accuracy
P - purpose

Use Google Advanced to find authoritative online sources (websites). Enter your search term(s) and limit domain to .edu or .gov.

Pro Tip: in general, your instructors do not consider e-journals and e-books to be online sources (the internet is your means of access)