eBooks

Reading

All ebook collections allow you to read ebooks online using a web browser of your choice. All that is required is to first log in to the Libraries resources using your Argonet username and password. Off campus and having access issues? Visit Access from Off Campus. As long as you are connected, you can read away.

Downloading

Every ebook collection is different in terms of whether or not they allow you to download the content for offline reading or transfer to a device. Some ebook collections will allow books to be downloaded to your computer (or other device) for a limited period of time. Within a collection, you may be able to download some content and not others, depending upon the publisher. Three collections that allow downloads are Ebrary, EBSCOhost and EBL. These items can be found by searching in the library catalog. Please note that all require installing the free software Adobe Digital Editions to download the content.

Copying/Printing

Some ebook collections that the Libraries subscribe to allow for the copying of text or printing of pages from ebooks. Again, how much text may be copied and how many pages may be printed vary from collection to collection, with some variation from title to title, as well.

Downloading eBooks via OneSearch can be tricky at first but well worth taking the steps to get the book.  Follow these steps to download eBooks that you have found using OneSearch or the Catalog.

• Begin here:  You will need to install Adobe Digital Editions AND set up an EBSCO account. This account is separate from your UWF account.
• After you've located the eBook you want to download, select Download. The file will be saved as a acsm file. SAVE THIS FILE IN A PLACE WHERE YOU CAN EASILY FIND IT.
• Make sure Adobe Digital Editions is open.  Navigate to where the eBook file is that you saved within Adobe Digital Editions.  Select the eBook file, drag, or drop it into Adobe Digital Editions.
• Now you should be able to read the book!

Keep in mind:
If you try to open your ebook as an Adobe PDF, it wil not work. You MUST download Adobe Digital Editions.

If you are downloading an ebook on your iPad, see the box below for instructions.

• Download Bluefire Reader free from the app store
• From your iPad, use your browser to search the . Follow the links to read it online.
• Click "Download This eBook (Offline)" from the left hand menu
• Sign in with your My EBSCO hostaccount. If you don't have one, set one up. Don't forget your username and password!
• Select the amount of time you want to check the book out for (1-7 days). The eBooks will automatically removes itself from your iPad after the checkout period.
• Click checkout and download
• Click on the link to open in Bluefire Reader
• Enjoy your book!