LibGuides: Professional Studies Library: Collections

K-12 Resources

Code It! Programming and Keyboards You Can Create Yourself by Jessie Alkire
Call Number: T.EX ABDO Gr.3-6 2018 A44
Publication Date: 2018
Makerspaces are places designed to inspire creativity and collaboration. In Code It! Programming and Keyboards You Can Create Yourself, kids will make a computer key out of a banana and use popular software programs to code music, game characters, and more! Step-by-step photos bring each project to life. Techniques and tips help troubleshoot and use the materials within the makerspace. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Checkerboard Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
What Do They Do with All That Poo? by Jane Kurtz; Allison Black (Illustrator)
Call Number: S.S BLB Gr.K-2 2018 K87
Publication Date: 2018
Find out what happens to all of the poo at the zoo in this funny and factual picture book! There are so many different kinds of animals at the zoo, and they each make lots and lots (and sometimes LOTS!) of poo. So what do zoos do with all of that poo? This zany, fact-filled romp explores zoo poo, from cube-shaped wombat poo to white hyena scat, and all of the places it ends up, including in science labs and elephant-poo paper--even backyard gardens!
All Birds Have Anxiety by Kathy Hoopmann
Call Number: Gp.S Kin/J Gr.K-3 2017 H66
Publication Date: 2017
Life as a bird can be stressful! From worrying about airplanes, windows, and getting enough worms to eat, it is clear that birds can be anxious beings. Through a light-touch, quizzical depiction of bird behaviour, All Birds Have Anxiety uses colourful images and astute explanations to explore with gentle humour what it means to live with anxiety day-to-day, and how to begin to deal with it. Following the style of the best-selling All Cats Have Asperger Syndrome and All Dogs Have ADHD, wonderful colour photographs express the complex and difficult ideas related to anxiety disorder in an easy-to-understand way. This simple yet profound book validates the deeper everyday experiences of anxiety, provides an empathic understanding of the many symptoms associated with anxiety, and offers compassionate suggestions for change. The combination of understanding and gentle humour make this the ideal introduction to anxiety disorder for those diagnosed with this condition, their family and friends and those generally interested in understanding anxiety.

Education

Engineering in Elementary STEM Education by Christine M. Cunningham
Call Number: LB1585.3 .C86 2018
ISBN: 9780807758779
Publication Date: 2018
Bolstered by new standards and new initiatives to promote STEM education, engineering is making its way into the school curriculum. This comprehensive introduction will help elementary educators integrate engineering into their classroom, school, or district in age-appropriate, inclusive, and engaging ways. Building on the work of a Museum of Science team that has spent 15 years developing elementary engineering curricula, this book outlines how engineering can be integrated into a broader STEM curriculum, details its pedagogical benefits to students, and includes classroom examples to help educators tailor instruction to engage diverse students. Featuring vignettes, case studies, videos, research results, and assessments, this resource will help readers visualize high-quality elementary engineering and understand the theoretical principles in context.
Language at the Speed of Sight by Mark Seidenberg
Call Number: LB2395.3 .S44 2018
ISBN: 9781541617155
Publication Date: 2018
The way we teach reading is not working, and it cannot continue. We have largely abandoned phones-based reading instruction, despite research that supports its importance for word recognition. Rather than treating Black English as a valid dialect and recognizing that speaking one dialect can impact the ability to learn to read in another, teachers simply dismiss it as "incorrect English." And while we press children to develop large vocabularies because we think being a good reader means knowing more words, studies have found that a large vocabulary is only an indication of better pattern recognition.

Curriculum for K-12

Our collection contains literature and supplementary texts for K-12 students. In addition, we collect the adopted Escambia County School District textbooks. We also have games and manipulatives which are used in teaching. A strong CD and DVD collection complements the written sources. We collect the FTCE & FELE Study Guides for student use in preparation for certification tests.

Spotlight on Manipulatives

Spotlight on Manipulatives!

Each month we will recommend manipulative materials from different educational areas. Come by the PSL to borrow these and other great hands-on educational materials. Many of our manipulatives come with teacher guides, but check out the resources for creative ways to use our spotlighted items.

K’NEX Education – Simple and Compound Machines Set
Call Number: Sp.G KNex Gr.4-9 2015 S74
Build 16 fully-functioning replicas of real-world machines (one at a time)
Expands students' knowledge of simple machine concepts through hands-on learning
Includes 352 K'NEX parts all packaged in a convenient storage box
Includes building instructions and comprehensive Teacher's Guide
Aligned to STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) concepts national standards
For 5th through 9th grade classrooms
Building instructions and comprehensive teacher's guide included
Learning Resources Pumping Heart Model
Call Number: Sb.MO LR Gr.3-12 200- P86
Easy-to-use, multi-sensory model
Explore how the heart and lungs work together for oxygen exchange
Uses a simple hand pump to demonstrate basic heart and pulmonary blood flow
Features clearly labeled heart chambers, main artery, veins and lungs
Ideal for ages 8+
Match It! Mathematics Memory
Call Number: M.G LJI Gr.K-1 2016 M37
GAIN EARLY MATHEMATICS SKILLS – The Match It! Memory Mathematics game introduces early math skills including number recognition and basic addition and subtraction. By matching the sum to its answer, the child gains an important understanding of mathematic fundamentals, all aided by the pictures which provide a helpful clue.
BOOST MEMORY SKILLS – Memory skills improve with practice. This game requires the child to remember the location of previous puzzle pieces so that they can match them up to form the correct match. They can actively boost their memory while having fun!
LEARN TOGETHER & BOOST SOCIAL SKILLS – Learning together while playing games makes learning a fun, collaborative experience. Playing together with family or friends provides a fantastic opportunity to learn about taking turns, sharing and helping each other.
IMPROVE FOCUS – Playing the Memory game competitively can provide an extra boost of focus, encouraging children to concentrate on the task at hand while they play. Successful matching provides a huge boost of self-esteem to reward that focus.
ENCOURAGE CONFIDENCE – Learning mathematics can be a daunting process, but games are a friendly, enjoyable introduction to the basic skills your child needs before moving on to more complex mathematics. This can help any child to feel more positive and confident when approaching literacy tasks.

Criminal Justice Monographs

In addition to all the new incoming books for criminal justice, we have selected 200 monographs in the field of criminal justice for research and classwork.

Topics include: Drugs, criminology, terrorism, homeland security, gangs, homicide and other crimes, domestic violence, forensics, corrections, prisions, and juvenile justice.

Education Monographs

In addition to all the new incoming books for education, we have selected 200 monographs in the field of education for research and classwork.

Topics include: Leadership, theorists, research methods, best practices, Response To Intervention, action research, diversity, differenated instruction, literacy, inclusion, No Child Left Behind, classroom management, testing, gifted, multicultural education, special education, and STEM.

Social Work Monographs

In addition to all the new incoming books for social work, we have selected 200 monographs in the field of social work for research and classwork.

Topics include: Aging, poverty, research, working with groups, community practice, case management, welfare, disaster assistance, family practice, mental health, child welfare, foster care, adoption, elder care, elder abuse, and drug and alcohol abuse.

Criminal Justice

Ending Overcriminalization and Mass Incarceration by Anthony B. Bradley
Call Number: HV9950 .B693 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Mass incarceration is an overwhelming problem and reforms are often difficult, leading to confusion about what to do and where to start. Ending Overcriminalization and Mass Incarceration: Hope from Civil Society introduces the key issues that need immediate attention and provides concrete direction about effective solutions systemically and relationally. In this work Anthony B. Bradley recognizes that offenders are persons with inherent dignity. Mass incarceration results from the systemic breakdown of criminal law procedure and broken communities. Using the principle of personalism, attention is drawn to those areas that directly contact the lives of offenders and determine their fate. Bradley explains how reform must be built from the person up, and once these areas are reformed our law enforcement culture will change for the better. Taking an innovative approach, Anthony B. Bradley explores what civic institutions need to do to prevent people from falling into the criminal justice system and recidivism for those released from prison.
Unusually Cruel: Prisons, Punishment, and the Real American Exceptionalism by Marc Morjé Howard
Call Number: HV8139 .H69 2017
Publication Date: 2017
The United States incarcerates far more people than any other country in the world, at rates nearly ten times higher than other liberal democracies. Indeed, while the U.S. is home to 5 percent of the world's population, it contains nearly 25 percent of its prisoners. But the extent of American cruelty goes beyond simply locking people up. At every stage of the criminal justice process - plea bargaining, sentencing, prison conditions, rehabilitation, parole, and societal reentry - the U.S. is harsher and more punitive than other comparable countries. In Unusually Cruel, Marc Morjé Howard argues that the American criminal justice and prison systems are exceptional - in a truly shameful way. Although other scholars have focused on the internal dynamics that have produced this massive carceral system, Howard provides the first sustained comparative analysis that shows just how far the U.S. lies outside the norm of established democracies. And, by highlighting how other countries successfully apply less punitive and more productive policies, he provides plausible solutions to addressing America's criminal justice quagmire.

Social Work

Abandoned Families: Social Isolation in the Twenty-First Century by Kristin S. Seefeldt
Call Number: HQ536 .S3989 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Education, employment, and home ownership have long been considered stepping stones to the middle class. But in Abandoned Families, social policy expert Kristin Seefeldt shows how many working families have access only to a separate but unequal set of poor-quality jobs, low-performing schools, and declining housing markets which offer few chances for upward mobility. Through in-depth interviews over a six-year period with women in Detroit, Seefeldt charts the increasing social isolation of many low-income workers, particularly African Americans, and analyzes how economic and residential segregation keep them from achieving the American Dream of upward mobility.
SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers by Melissa Bird
Call Number: HV10.5 .B57 2019
Publication Date: 2019
With a unique focus on advocacy and social justice, author Melissa Bird covers fundamentals of the social work profession - from coalition building to advocacy engagement and stakeholder outreach - across a range of practice areas, such as mental health, substance abuse, and criminal justice.