Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

U.S. Documents

Popular Sources

Budget of the United States Government. Annual. 1966- (Ref. Desk U.S. Doc. PREX 2.8) Also 1996- http://www.gpoaccess.gov/usbudget/

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. Annual. 2002. (Ref. Desk U.S. Doc. PREX 2.20:) Also  http://www.cfda.gov 

Code of Federal Regulations. Current. (Ref. KF 70 A3) Also http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html
Also check Federal Register Online, http://www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html

Complete Guide to Citing Government Information Resources. 1993. (Ref. J 9.5 G37)

CQ Researcher. 2001. (Ref. Desk H 35 E352); 1991-2001. (Periodicals H 35 E352) Also 1991-  CQ Press

Dictionary of Occupational Titles. 1991. (Ref. HB 2595 U543) & Emerald Coast Library http://www.wave.net/upg/immigration/dot_index.html 
The printed source has been replaced by the Occupational Information Network (O*Net) database  http://www.onetcenter.org.

Fed Biz Opps (formerly Commerce Business Dailyhttp://www.fedbizopps.gov    Also  CBD Archives  http://www.fbodaily.com/cbd/archive and Bidnet  http://www.bidnet.com.

Federal Register. Current. (Ref. KF 70 A2). 1936- June 2001 (Microfilm 540)
Also 1980-  Lexis Nexis Congressional Universe National Archives. 1994- http://www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970. 1975. (U.S. Doc. C 3.134/2:H 62/789-970)

How Congress Works. 1998. (Ref. JK 1021 H69)

How Our Laws are Made. 2000. (U.S. Doc. Y 1.1/7:106-197) Also  http://thomas.loc.gov

Minerals Yearbooks. 1959-2001. (U.S. Doc. I 28.37) and Current edition http://minerals.er.usgs.gov/minerals/pubs/myb.html

National Library of Medicine. (Medline). http://www.nlm.nih.gov/nlmhome.html
The National Library of Medicine provides free access to the most current Medline database through PubMed.

Occupational Outlook Handbook. 1998-  (Ref. Desk U.S. Doc. L 2.3/4) & Emerald Coast Library    Also 2002/2003  http://www.bls.gov/oco
See also Occupational Outlook Quarterly, 1966-, (Periodicals 2nd floor HF 5382.5 U5 O3) and  1999-  http://www.bls.gov/opub/ooq/about.htm.

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Manual. 1987. (Ref. Desk HF 1042 A55) & Emerald Coast Library    And Current issue  http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html Details the codes established by the government to identify products and industries.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) (Ref. Desk U.S. Doc. PREX 2.6/4:IN 27/2007),  http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html,  and http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html  is gradually replacing the SIC system.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. 1940-. Annual. (Ref. Desk U.S. Doc. C 3.134 or Ref. HA 202 U58) & Emerald Coast Library    Also 1878-  http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/statab.html

United States Government Manual. Annual.  (Ref. Desk U.S. Doc. AE 2.108/2) & Emerald Coast Library    Also 1995/1996-  http://www.gpoaccess.gov/gmanual/index.html

United States Statutes at Large. 1937-. (Ref. KF 50 U5) See also the United States Code. 2000. (Ref. KF 62 2000 A2)  1994-  http://www.gpoaccess.gov/uscode
/index.html
,  and Public and Private Laws 1995-  http://www.gpoaccess.gov/plaws/index.html.

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents. 1993-  http://www.gpoaccess.gov/wcomp/index.html

World Factbook.  (CIA). 2002. Annual (Ref. Desk U.S. Doc. PREX 3.15/2)    And Current issue  https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/