Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Demographic Statistics: Books

OneSearch (Includes articles, books, DVDs, music, etc.) (PrimoVE)

Background Sources

The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog.  


GUIDES and SOURCES
 

Almanac of the Fifty States. Annual. 2007. (Ref. HA 203 A5) & FWB
Subtitled "Basic Data Profiles with Comparative Tables."

American Generations, Who They Are and How They Live. 2005.
Demographic patterns of Baby Boomers, Gen X and Millenials - housing, spending patters, education, time use and wealth.

American Marketplace. 2001. (Ref. HA 214 A6 2001 and Online 2005)
Subtitled: "Demographics and Spending Patterns." Includes extensive data on Education, Health, Income, Labor, Living Arrangements, Population, Spending, and Wealth

Ancestry 2000. (NOT thru EDS)
Special report from the 2000 Census on racial origin in the U.S. See also the Overview of Race and Hispanic Origin 2000.

Black Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook. 2001. (Ref. E 185 B7238 2001)
A statistical survey of black Americans. See also: Negro Population in the United States, 1790-1915 (Ref. HA 205 A33), Negroes in the United States, 1920-1932 (Ref. HA 205 A33 1920-32), and Statistical Record of Black America (Ref. E 185.5 S83 1997).

(thru EDS and defunct) but IN PRINT County and City Data Book. Annual. 1947- (Gov. Docs. C 3.134/2:C 83/2/ & Online & FWB
Presents a variety of social and economic statistical information on states, counties, and cities with populations of 25,000 or more. Includes data on crime, elections, health, manufacturers, trade, and vital statistics. It supplements Statistical Abstract of the United States

County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City and County Data Book. Annual. (Ref. Desk HA 203 C68)
A detailed compilation of U. S. statistics which includes data on housing, population, income, occupations, and education

(bad .gov page) but IN PRINT County Business Patterns. Annual. 1973-. (Gov. Doc. C 3.204/4: & Online & FWB
Presents state and county data by SIC number in separate state reports and U.S. summaries.

Datapedia of the United States: 1790-2005. 2001. (Ref. HA 202 K87 2001 &amp Online 2004)
Subtitled: "America Year by Year," this source includes historical statistics in 23 areas. Demographic projections are extended to 2010.

Demographics USA. Annual. 1978+. (Ref. HF 5415.3 S79) & FWB
Previous titles: Survey of Buying Power Data Service (1978-1990) and Survey of Buying Power Demographics USA (1991-1992). Since 1997 available in a "City Edition" (Ref. HF 5415.3 S79) and a "Zip Edition" (Ref. HF 5415.3 S805). Provides detailed population and market statistics based largely on the census.<br
CDC (Center for Disease Control)--National Center for Health Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970. 1975. (REF HA 202 .B87 1975 Pt.1-2) & FWB REF
Published by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. See also Historical Statistics of the South, 1790-1970, Vol. I (Ref. HA 218 D63) & FWB, Historical Statistics of the United States, 1790-1970, Vol. II - The Midwest (Ref. HA 215 D6) & FWB, Statistical Atlas of Southern Counties (Ref. HA 218 J6).

Kids Count Data Book. 2006. (Ref. HQ 792 U5 K53)
Subtitled: "State Profiles of Child Well-Being."

Census of Population and Housing; Summary Population and Housing Characteristics. 1 vol./state. (Gov. Doc. C 3.223/18:990 CHP-1-1 & FWB
This series from the decennial census includes detailed demographic statistics for cities and counties in each state. The Census of Population Redistricting Data is available on CD-ROM. The Census of Population and Housing Summary Tape Files and the Census of Population and Housing Block Statistics for each state are also available on CD-ROM.

Places, Towns and Townships. 2003. (Ref. HA 203 P58 2003 & Online & FWB)
Detailed statistics on the inhabitants of all incorporated places covered by the 1990 Census are provided in this comprehensive reference.

Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes: 1900-1940. 1985. (Ref. HA 214 S3)
An index to the contents of the published decennial census reports, 1900-1940. Continued by Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes, 1950-1980 (Ref. HA 214 S3 1988). See also State Censuses (Ref. Z 7554 U5 U63)

Racial and Ethnic Diversity Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites. 2006.
Provides demographic data from the Census including spending pattern.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book. 2006. (Ref. Desk Gov. Doc. C 3.134/5 & Online & FWB
Summarizes data from the census with tables covering over 2,000 subjects for states and larger areas, 320 subjects for metropolitan areas and component counties, and 73 subjects for central cities. Supplements Statistical Abstract of the United States (Ref. Desk HA 202 U58)

Statistical Abstract of The United States (NOT thru EDS). Annual. 1878+ (Ref. Desk HA 202 U58 & Online)
Contains statistical tables and textual explanations to statistics summarizing the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The data presented is derived from both government and private sources.

Vital Statistics of the United States. CDC (Center for Disease Control & Prevention): National Center for Health Statistics) Annual. 2 vols. Irregular. 1937+ (Gov. Doc. HE 20.6210: & Online)
Presents statistics on natality, marriage, divorce, and mortality. See also Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: MMWR (Gov. Doc. HE 20.7009:).

Bibliography and Reel Index: A Guide to the Mircofilm Edition of United States Decennial Census Publications, 1790-1970. 1975. (Ref. HA 195 R4)
Serves as both a bibliography of United States Decennial Census Publications for 1790-1970 and as a reel index for the microform collection of these publications (MF 775).

Census Catalog and Guide. Annual. 1973-1979, 1993-1999. (Gov. Doc. C 3.163/3:)
A guide to Census Bureau publications and services. See also previous titles: Bureau of the Census Catalog (Gov. Doc. C 3.163/3:) and Bureau of the Census Catalog of Publications, 1790-1972 (Gov. Doc. C 3.163/3:790-972).

Guide to U.S. Government Statistics. 1991. (Ref. HA 154 U5 G8 & FWB)
An annotated guide to over 14,500 U.S. Government statistical publications

Hispanic Americans - A Statistical Sourcebook. 2005. (Ref. E 184 S75 H5655)
A compilation of detailed statistical tables about the Hispanic population of the United States. Includes comparative data for the White population, and a total for Americans of all races and ethnic groups