Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Your first duty as a researcher is to get the facts right. Your second duty is to tell readers where the facts came from." --Kate Turabian
No matter what style is used, the purpose of any citation method is the same:
- to give credit and appropriately attribute the work of others
- to assure readers about the accuracy of your facts
- to show readers the research that informs your work
- to help readers follow or extend your work
Chicago Notes-Bibliography (Turabian) Format
The discipline of History uses Chicago style for citing sources. Use the format for footnotes/endnotes, not parenthetical citations.
Use the N format for footnotes/endnotes, and B for a bibliographic entry. Some of the major differences between the formats are:
- Indentation: The first line of a footnote is indented, while subsequent lines are not. Conversely, the first line of a bibliographic citation is not indented, while subsequent lines are.
- Name Order: Footnotes list author as first name last name, whereas bibliographic citations list author as last name, first name.
- Punctuation: Footnotes use more commas and bibliographic citations use more periods.
The following examples of the most commons types of citations are taken/adapted from the 17th edition of the Chicago manual. For additional examples, consult chapter 14 (pages 741-890) or the online Chicago Quick Guide.
Chicago Notes-Bibliography (Turabian) Citation Style: A Tutorial
Watch this brief video for help with Chicago Notes-Bibliography style:
You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.
Managing Citations with RefWorks
Use RefWorks to manage citations from journals, books, documents, and internet sites.
First time users will need to create an account which will permit a user to store citations indefinitely for repeated use. The UWF group code is RWUWestFlor.
Use the RefWorks tutorial to learn more about this useful database, or watch this brief video.
RefWorks In December 2020, UWF Libraries subscription to RefWorks will not be renewed. Current RefWorks users are encouraged to export their references by the end of December 31, 2020. Users will have until January 31, 2021 to access their accounts, after which accounts will be permanently inaccessible.
A citation manager that imports and manages bibliographic information in addition to creating bibliographies in desired styles. More information may be found on the RefWorks tutorial