Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Steps to Finding Articles
Locate a database from the list to the right (e.g., JSTOR)
Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.
Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article
Use or to link to full text articles available in other databases
Check the list of ejournals and the library catalog to make sure UWF does not own the journal you need
Articles not at UWF
If you need an article that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan at no cost.
Articles are delivered electronically to your ILL account, and you will notified when they are received. Most articles are received in about 24 hours, but it can take up to 5 days.
Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly and "grey" literature: articles, books, conference proceedings and presentations, white papers theses, etc., from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities.
Set Google Scholar to link to UWF Libraries resources from off-campus:
- Click Settings in Google Scholar
- Click Library Links
- Type University of West Florida into the box and search
- Check the UWF boxes
- Click the blue SAVE button to save these settings
Remember, you need to be logged in through Remote Access to access these resources from off-campus.
Databases index journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials. These databases are the most relevant for History:
America: History & Life (EBSCO Publishing)(Abstracts)
Bibliographic database covering the scholarly historical literature in the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO Publishing)(A&I)
Premier source for scholarly articles, books, and many dissertations on all aspects of world history except the U.S. and Canada
Includes full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents and scholarly analysis.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - X Collections
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
Project Muse - Standard Collection
Project MUSE offers full-text access to journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Humanities Source (upgraded from Humanities Abstracts)
Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. It includes full text of over 1,500 journals, feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1830-1974. [Ref. D 1 C73]
Selective indexing of about 1,000 journals in history, political science, and sociology under keyword or subject categories. See also Recently Published Articles, 1976-1990 [Ref. D 1 R4].
How to Find a Scholarly Article: A Tutorial
Watch this brief video for help finding scholarly articles:
You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.