Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

History

Finding Books

For information on how to locate books in the library, use the Locating Books guide.
UWF students who live over 50 miles from the UWF campus may request that books be delivered by mail.

Search Library Catalog
Search for physical materials in our collection.

UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions and usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.

Make sure you log in with your Argonet credentials in the top right corner of the Primo VE page. Select Statewide Catalog from the dropdown menu in the search box. Use the UBorrow Request link in the catalog record, then click the green Send button at the bottom of the submission form. You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk. 

The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal. UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals. Select My Loans from the dropdown menu in your profile, then click Renew. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or a request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information Desk.

Notes and Reminders:

  • e-books and other media are not available through UBorrow
  • do not remove the UBorrow paperwork attached to the book(s)
  • you will be fined for all overdue, lost, and damaged UBorrow loans


UBorrow - Statewide Union Catalog
Search for materials across all 40 Florida state universities and public colleges.

If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will be notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.

To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat (in Databases A-Z list), a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.

For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.

Background Sources

The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog.


REFERENCE GUIDES AND BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Bibliography of Modern History. 1968. (Ref. Z 6204 R62)
Historiography: an Annotated Bibliography. 1987. (Ref D 13 H44)
International Bibliography of Historical Sciences. 1926-1939, 1947-1961. (Ref. Z 6205 I61)
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide. 1990. (Ref. D 20 F7)

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Dictionary of Concepts in History. 1986. (Ref. D 13 R49)
Dictionary of Historic Documents. 1991. (Ref. D 9 D525 2003)
Larousse Encyclopedia of Modern History. 1981. (Ref. D 209 H5153)C
The New Cambridge Modern History. 14 vols. 1957-1979. (Ref. D 208 N4)
ALMANACS AND YEARBOOKS
Facts on File Yearbook. 1941- (Ref. D 410 F3)
World Almanac and Book of Facts. 1923- (Ref. AY 67 N5 W7) & Emerald Coast Library

STATISTICS
CIA World Factbook
. 2000. (Gov. Docs. Prex 3.15)
This work provides statistical and narrative information about countries of the world. Available online at https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html
Europa World Year Book. 2 volumes. Annual. (Ref. Desk JN 1 E85)
This work provides summaries of the geography, history, government, economy, services, religion and media of each country in the world. Descriptive information, as well as statistical tables and charts, are included.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania, 1750-1993. 1998. (Ref. HA 4675 M552 1998)
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-1993. 1998. (Ref. HA 1107 M5 1998)
International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-1993. 1998. (Ref. HA 175 M55 1998)
Statistical Abstract of the World. 1994 & 1997. (1994 at Ref. HA 154 S68; 1997 at Ref. Desk HA 154 S68)
Statistical Yearbook/Annuaire Statisque. Annual. 1948- (Ref. JX 1977 A2 ST STAT XX S79)
The United Nation's statistical abstract of the world, regional, and country data. Covers demographics, social and educational statistics, and domestic/external economic activity.
The World Economy: Historical Statistics. 2003. (Ref. HF 1359 .M333 2003)