LibGuides: Computer Science: IEEE Explore

Introduction

IEEE Xplore - IEEE/IET Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE covers literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Explore at UWF provides full text articles from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines. Full text coverage is available from 1998 to the present (abstracting goes back to 1872).
Although conference proceedings and standards are also indexed in IEEE Explore, they are outside our subscription account and you would need to use interlibrary loan services to obtain the full text of these items.

Accessing IEEE Explore - From the library home page, select IEEE Explore from the alphabetical list of databases; from the Science list of subject databases; or from the Articles tab or IEEE tab of this Electrical Engineering LibGuide. If you are accessing from off campus, be sure to log in from the Access tab on the library home page.

Searching IEEE Explore - Basic searches by keyword, author, and publication search are available in addition to Advanced Searching features scuch combining search terms with and/or/not, format type, date ranges, and publisher. Citation Searching, or searching how many times an author or article has appeared in the references of a later work, is a new search capability within IEEE Explore. Browsing by publication type or by general topic is another way to discover publications in IEEE.

Bells Labs Technical Journal
Full text coverage begins in 1922.

Features

Limit search results to subscribed journals
Create an account to store saved searches, content alerts, etc.
Search by citation and patent citation
Export to Excel
Use equation features in HTML
Browse 16 topic areas as well as preprints, most accessed articles, and tables of contents
Learn more with IEEE's online tutorials and tools
Obtain metrics for an article

IEEE Style Guide

UWF Libraries IEEE Style Guide
- This link opens in a new window
Just about everything you need to know to make progress in your IEEE citation formatting!

Advanced Searching

Using the Advanced Search option, two keywords are combined and limited by date and publication type:

This search yielded 28 articles. The set may be limited further by using the filters on the left column.

Click on the article title for more information about the article, including an abstract or summary of the article. This page offers exportation to RefWorks and other citation management tools.

Other tabs offer information about author(s) affiliation(s), references used by the author(s), how many times the article has been cited in IEEE journals, keywords describing the article, and metrics of usage and citation counts. An example of the metrics for this article follows: