LibGuides: Computer Science: Open Education Resources

Open Education Resources

Open Education Resources are defined as free materials used for teaching and learning. In higher education, these include courseware, textbooks, digital sources, open access journals, and government documents.

Open Access Vendors

SpringerOpen
SpringerOpen provides access to full text journals in disciplines including science, technology, and medicine.
GeoRef Open Access Journals
GeoRef provides searching and full access to journals and series in geology, geography, and related disciplines that are openly available on the web.
Bioline International
Beginning in 1993, Bioline International began providing full text access to peer reviewed journals that contain research on public health, international development, tropical medicine, food, nutritional security, and biodiversity.

Open Access Databases

DOAJ
The Directory of Open Access Journals provides full text coverage of scientific, scholarly journals.
GAlLEO Knowledge Repository
Digital collections from the University of Georgia.
PLoS (Public Library of Science)
A database of open access, peer reviewed journals in the sciences.
SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition)
The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition provides access to papers, articles, blogs, newsletters, and news for research scientists.
arXiv
Sponsored by Cornell, this site provides eprints of quantitative research papers in many of the science disciplines.
E-Print Network
Scientists have created this network of information gleaned from websites and databases to create a database of e-prints.
Journal TOCs
A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access)
Genamics
A free database of almost 10,000 journals. The articles themselves are not available on the database, so it is an identification resource.

Scientific Open Access Communities

DAVID
DAVID, A Database for Annotation, Visualization, and Integrated Discovery is a bioinformation database that provides gene specific data and promotes data sharing among scientists.
Faculty of 1000
A searchable database of current publications by research faculty. Although the full texts of these publications are available through a subscription, the database may be searched free of charge.
Hum-Molgen
An international communication forum for human molecular genetics featuring journal literature and other publications.
OpenDOAR
A resource identifying open resource sites.
Research Gate
"ResearchGate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners."
INASP (International Network )
INASP’s Programme for the Enhancement of Research Information (PERI) aims to support research capacity in developing and emerging countries. INASP's PERii:Open Access provides access to resources freely available.

Open Courseware

Many universities have followed MIT's lead and model for open courseware (OCW). OCW Course materials are freely accessible but no certificates or degrees are granted by the institution. The intent is to share knowledge and resources with all who interested in learning.

More information about Open Courseware is available at the Open Courseware Consortium site.

MIT Open Courseware (OCW)
MIT provides content and resources for over 2000 of its courses.
Duke's Center for the Study of the Public Domain
Materials provided from Duke's Intellectual Property Rights Program.
JHSPH Open Courseware
Johns Hopkins University offers open access to the course content in its Bloomberg School of Public Health

Computer Science

Finding Articles

STEM Librarian

Open Education Resources

Open Access Vendors

Open Access Databases

Scientific Open Access Communities

Open Courseware