LibGuides: Creative Writing: Poetry

Poetry Web Sites

Poetry Daily
A new poem every day, along with poetry news, archives, and more.
Poets.org - Poetry, Poems, Bios, and more
A resource from the Academy of American Poets with thousands of poems, essays, biographies, weekly features, and poems for love and every occasion.
Poetry Archive
The Poetry Archive is an ever expanding archive of poets reading their own work.
Poetry & Literature (Library of Congress)
The Poetry Archive is an ever expanding archive of poets reading their own work.
The Poetry Foundation
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in American culture.
Poets & Writers magazine
The nation’s largest nonprofit organization serving creative writers by providing professional development, communication, and community.

Jane Friedman – Industry insider blog for the absolute best source for what you need to know to get your poetry, short fiction, or novel published.

Selected Databases

The following databases offer access to literary journals, book reviews, and primary works by authors.

Humanities Source (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Browse fiction, poems, and drama from literary journals and magazines by limiting the document type to “fiction,” “book excerpt,” “short story,” “poem,” or “drama.” Book reviews may also be found in this way.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Limit your search to Primary Sources and Literary Works to view poems, fiction, and non-fiction by various writers from a variety of literary magazines.
New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the New York Times for Book Reviews by selecting “More Search Options” in the Advanced Search and limiting the Document Type to “Book Reviews” (listed under Reviews).
Project Muse - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides access to a few of the top literary magazines, including Prairie Schooner, the Sewanee Review, and the Missouri Review.

Literary Journals & Writer Resources

The New Pages Guide to Literary Magazines
NewPages.com keeps an up-to-date list of both print and online literary journals and magazines. They also provide literary magazine reviews, as well as links to publication contests and creative writing programs.
AWP
The Association of Writers and Writing Programs provides information about literary contests, writing conferences, and writing programs.
Writer's Market
Reference Desk – PN161 .W83
Clifford Garstang's Ranking of Literary Journals

Where are the books?

Books on literature and creative writing can be found in the following call number sections:

PE: English Language and Philology
PN: General Literature (including books on creative writing)
PR: British and Commonwealth Literature
PS: American Literature
PZ: Children's Literature

Some subject headings that may help you are:

Creative Writing
Creative Nonfiction -- Authorship
Prose Literature -- Authorship
Reportage Literature -- Authorship
Poetry -- Authorship
Poetics Poetry -- Publishing

Tip: Most works by and about an author will be found in the same section. Check to see where to find them using the library catalog!