Skip to main content
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Arab World Cultures

Finding Books

UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges.  This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.

When searching in UWF library catalog, click on the blue    icon in the top right corner.  Alternatively, you can search Mango (the union catalog) directly.  To request books, click on the UBorrow icon under the item, enter your *full, 13-digit* Nautilus card number and password, and select the pick-up location.  You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk.

The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal.  UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals - through Renew My Books or the Renewals/Library Account link in the library catalog. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information desk.

Notes and Reminders:

  • e-books and other media are not available through UBorrow
  • do not remove the UBorrow paperwork attached to the book(s)
  • you will be fined for all overdue, lost, and damaged UBorrow loans

If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will be notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.

To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat (in Databases A-Z list), a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.

For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.

The Library Catalog: A Tutorial

Watch this brief video for help using the library catalog:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.

Background Sources

The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog. There are also over 600 reference titles available in CREDO, our online reference database.

REFERENCE GUIDES
Islamism: A Documentary and Reference Guide. 2008. [Ref. BP 161.3 C35 2008]
The Middle East. 2000. [Ref. DS 63.1 M484 2000]
University of Utah: Middle East & North Africa Internet Resource Guide - This guide was created to serve the needs of scholars, students, and interested individuals in finding and using internet resources dealing with the Middle East. In this document the Middle East is defined as broadly as possible. It includes: Mauritania in the west, Pakistan in the east, Somalia in the south, and Central Asian Republics in the north.
Who's Who in the Arab World. 2007-2008. [Ref. D 198.3 W5]

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Arab American Encyclopedia. 1999. [Ref. E 184 A65 A449 1999 v.3]
Encyclopaedia Iranica - A multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. In fact, it is the only precisely documented reference work on the lands, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies. It is to benefit scholars, students, as well as general readers.
The Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict: A Political, Social, and Military History. 2008. [Ref. DS 119.7 E5653 2008]
Encyclopaedia of the Orient - LookLex / Encyclopaedia, is an expansion of Encyclopaedia of the Orient covering North Africa and the Middle East and other subjects in the entire world.
Historical Dictionary of the Gulf Arab states. 2008. [Ref. DS 247 A15 P43 2008]