Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Women's & Gender Studies

Finding Books

For information on how to locate books in the library, use the Locating Books guide.
UWF students who live over 50 miles from the UWF campus may request that books be delivered by mail.

Search Library Catalog
Search for physical materials in our collection.

UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions and usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.

Make sure you log in with your Argonet credentials in the top right corner of the Primo VE page. Select Statewide Catalog from the dropdown menu in the search box. Use the UBorrow Request link in the catalog record, then click the green Send button at the bottom of the submission form. You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk. 

The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal. UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals. Select My Loans from the dropdown menu in your profile, then click Renew. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or a request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information Desk.

Notes and Reminders:

  • e-books and other media are not available through UBorrow
  • do not remove the UBorrow paperwork attached to the book(s)
  • you will be fined for all overdue, lost, and damaged UBorrow loans


UBorrow - Statewide Union Catalog
Search for materials across all 40 Florida state universities and public colleges.

If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will be notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.

To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat (in Databases A-Z list), a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.

For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.

The Library Catalog: A Tutorial

Watch this brief video for help using the library catalog:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.

E-Books

We have over 160,000 ebooks in our collections.  Links to many of these titles are included in OneSearch and the library catalog, but you may also search online book collections directly.


UWF Databases: 


Online Sites:

Online Reference Sources

 

There are over 900 reference titles available in CREDO, our online reference database. Many are specifically related to Women's Studies, including:

Background Sources

The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES
American Women Civil Rights Activists: Biobibliographies of 68 Leaders, 1825-1992. 1993. (Ref. JC 599 .U5 H273)
Biographies of American Women: An Annotated Bibliography. 1990. (Ref. CT 3260 .S85)
Feminism and Women's Issues: An Annotated Bibliography and Research Guide. 1990. (Ref. HQ 1206 .W3)
Women's Diaries, Journals, and Letters. 1989. (Ref. CT 3230 C5)

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia. 2005. 3 vols. (Ref. E 185.86 .B542)
Dictionary of Feminist Theory. 1995. (Ref. HQ 1115 .H86)
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories. 2000. (Ref. HQ 1190 .E63 2000)
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender. 2001. (Ref. HQ 1115 .E43 2001)
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World. 2001. (Ref. HQ 1127 .S25 2001)
Encyclopedia of Women's History in America. 1996. (Ref. HQ 1410 .C85)
New Quotable Woman. 1992. (Ref. PN 6081.5 .N49 1992)
Political and Historical Encyclopedia of Women. 2003. (Ref. HQ 1236.5 .E85 E52 2003)
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women. 2000. (Ref. HQ 1115 .R69 2000)
Women's Studies Encyclopedia. 1999. (Ref. HQ 1115 .W645 1999)
Woman's Dictionary of Symbols and Sacred Objects. 1988. (Ref. CB 475 .W45)

HANDBOOKS AND DIRECTORIES
Handbook of American Women's History. 2000. (Ref. HQ 1410 .H36 2000)
Susan B. Anthony Slept Here: A Guide to American Women's Landmarks. 1994. (Ref. E 159 .K39)
Timetable of Women's History. 1996. (Ref. HQ 1121 .G74)
Women's Suffrage in America: An Eyewitness History. 1992. (Ref. JK 1898 .F76)