For information on how to locate books in the library, use the Locating Books guide.
UWF students who live over 50 miles from the UWF campus may request that books be delivered by mail.
Search Library Catalog
Search for physical materials in our collection.
UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions and usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.
Make sure you log in with your Argonet credentials in the top right corner of the Primo VE page. Select Statewide Catalog from the dropdown menu in the search box. Use the UBorrow Request link in the catalog record, then click the green Send button at the bottom of the submission form. You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk.
The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal. UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals. Select My Loans from the dropdown menu in your profile, then click Renew. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or a request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information Desk.
Notes and Reminders:
UBorrow - Statewide Union Catalog
Search for materials across all 40 Florida state universities and public colleges.
If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will be notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.
To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat (in Databases A-Z list), a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.
For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.
We have over 160,000 ebooks in our collections. Links to many of these titles are included in OneSearch and the library catalog, but you may also search online book collections directly.
The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog. There are also over 800 reference titles available in our online reference database CREDO, linked below.
REFERENCE GUIDES AND BIBLIOGRAPHIES
American Indian Studies: A Bibliographic Guide. 1995. (netLibrary - access via UWF library's online catalog)
Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. 4th ed. 5 vols. 1975. (Ref E 77 M97 1975)
Guide to Research on North American Indians. 1983. (Ref E 77 H54 1983)
The Indian Tribes of North America. 1952. (Ref E 51 U6 no. 145)
Indians of North America: Methods and Sources for Library Research. 1983. (Ref E 77 H12)
Native America Today: A Guide to Community, Politics, and Culture. 1999. (Ref E 98 T77 P75 1999)P
Native American Periodicals and Newspapers, 1828-1982: Bibliography, Publishing Record, and Holdings. 1984. (Ref E 77 D28)
DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Archaeology of Prehistoric Native America: An Encyclopedia. 1998. (Ref E 77.9 A72 1998)
A Concise Dictionary of Indian Tribes of North America. 1979. (Ref E 76.2 L44)
Dictionary of Indian Tribes of the Americas. 4 vols. 1980. (Ref E 54.5 D53 1980)
Dictionary of Native American Mythology. 1992. (Ref E 98 R3 G46 1992)
Encyclopedia of Native American Healing. 1996. (Ref E 98 M4 L96 1996)
Encyclopedia of Native American Religions. 1991. (Ref E 98 R3 H73 1991)
Encyclopedia of North American Indians.
A History of Indian Policy. 1973. (Doc I 20.2:H62)
Native American Ethnobotany. 1998. (Ref E 98 B7 M66 1998) Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia. 1994. (Ref E 76.2 N36 1994)
Ready Reference: American Indians. 3 vols. 1995. (Ref E 76.2 A45 1995)
Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian. 1995. (Ref E 76.2 R43 1995)
HANDBOOKS AND DIRECTORIES
American Indian Law Deskbook. 1998. (netLibrary - access via UWF library's online catalog
Many Smokes, Many Moons: A Chronology of American Indian History Through Indian Art. 1978. (Ref E 77.4 H53)
The Native North American Almanac. 1994. (Ref E 75 N397 1994)
Native North American Almanac. 2 vols. 1994. (Ref E 77 N374 1994 v.1-2)
Native North American Chronology. 1994. (Ref E 77 N374 1994 v.5)