Skip to Main Content
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Music

Finding Books

For information on how to locate books in the library, use the Locating Books guide.
UWF students who live over 50 miles from the UWF campus may request that books be delivered by mail.

Search Library Catalog
Search for physical materials in our collection.

UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions and usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.

Make sure you log in with your Argonet credentials in the top right corner of the Primo VE page. Select Statewide Catalog from the dropdown menu in the search box. Use the UBorrow Request link in the catalog record, then click the green Send button at the bottom of the submission form. You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk. 

The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal. UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals. Select My Loans from the dropdown menu in your profile, then click Renew. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or a request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information Desk.

Notes and Reminders:

  • e-books and other media are not available through UBorrow
  • do not remove the UBorrow paperwork attached to the book(s)
  • you will be fined for all overdue, lost, and damaged UBorrow loans


UBorrow - Statewide Union Catalog
Search for materials across all 40 Florida state universities and public colleges.

If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will be notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.

To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat (in Databases A-Z list), a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.

For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.

The Library Catalog: A Tutorial

Watch this brief video for help using the library catalog:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.

E-Books

We have over 160,000 ebooks in our collections.  Links to many of these titles are included in OneSearch and the library catalog, but you may also search online book collections directly.


UWF Databases: 


Online Sites:

Online Reference Sources

Background Sources

The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog.

REFERENCE GUIDES
Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography. 1997. (Ref. ML 113 D83)
Sourcebook for Research in Music. (ML 113 C68 1993) 
A Short Guide to Writing About Music<. (Ref. ML 3797 .B4 2000)
Writing About Music. (Ref. ML 3797 .W54 2002)

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Classical Musicians. 1997. (Ref. ML 105 S612)
Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz. 1999. (Ref. ML 102 J3 F39)
Composers Since 1900: A Biographical and Critical Guide. 1969. (ML 390 E833)
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. (Ref. ML 1000 G16)
Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular MusicB. 1995. (Ref. ML 102 P66 G84)
Harvard Dictionary of Music. 2003. (Ref. ML 100 .A64 2003)
New Grove Dictionary of American Music. 1986. (Ref. ML 101 U6 N48)
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. 2002. (Ref. ML 102 J3 N48 2002)
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd Edition. 2001. (Ref. ML 100 N48 2001)
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and MusiciansThe New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. 1984. (Ref. ML 102 I5 N48)
New Grove Dictionary of Opera. 1992. (Ref. ML 102 O6 N5)
Oxford Companion to Music. 2002. (Ref. ML 100 .S37 2002)
Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary
An impressive multi-media dictionary of musical terms with graphics and sound files created by Richard Cole and Ed Schwartz from the Department of Music at Virgina Polytechnic Institute and State University. Also included is an appendix divided into: Basic Building Blocks (cadences, scales, music notation and instrumentation); Musical Styles, Genre, Performance Practice (Blues progressions and ornamentation), and Music People and Historical Eras In Music (timeline and composers). Among the many sound files, the pronunciation files for foreign terms and names of composers are included with their briefs explanation and biographical notes.
Women Composers: Music through the Ages. 1996. (Ref. M 2 W88)