Skip to Main Content
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Archaeology

Finding Books

For information on how to locate books in the library, use the Locating Books guide.
UWF students who live over 50 miles from the UWF campus may request that books be delivered by mail.

Search Library Catalog
Search for physical materials in our collection.

UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions and usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.

Make sure you log in with your Argonet credentials in the top right corner of the Primo VE page. Select Statewide Catalog from the dropdown menu in the search box. Use the UBorrow Request link in the catalog record, then click the green Send button at the bottom of the submission form. You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk. 

The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal. UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals. Select My Loans from the dropdown menu in your profile, then click Renew. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or a request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information Desk.

Notes and Reminders:

  • e-books and other media are not available through UBorrow
  • do not remove the UBorrow paperwork attached to the book(s)
  • you will be fined for all overdue, lost, and damaged UBorrow loans


UBorrow - Statewide Union Catalog
Search for materials across all 40 Florida state universities and public colleges.

If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will be notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.

To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat (in Databases A-Z list), a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.

For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.

The Library Catalog: A Tutorial

Watch this brief video for help using the library catalog:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.

Background Sources

The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog. There are also over 600 reference titles in our online reference database CREDO, linked below.

REFERENCE GUIDES AND BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Bibliography of West Florida. 3 volumes with supplements. 1978-. (Ref. Z 1272 W4 S47) 
Finding the Source in Sociology and Anthropology. 1987. (Ref. HM 51 B84)
Handbook for British and Irish Archaeology: Sources and Resources. 1997. (Ref. CC 120 L38)

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Archaeological Method and Theory: An Encyclopedia. 2000. (Ref. CC 75 A654 2000)
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology. 1980. (Ref. CC 165 .C3 1980b)
Collins Dictionary of Archaeology. 1993. (Ref. CC 70 .C58 1993)
Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology. 2 volumes. 1999. (Ref. CC 70 C59)
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries
Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology. 2 volumes. 1996. (Ref. DE 5 E5)
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology. 2000. (Ref. CC 70 K56)
Historical Dictionary of North American Archaeology. 1988. (Ref. E 77.9 H57)
Illustrated Dictionary of Art and Archaeology. 1966. (Ref. N 33 M6)
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (IESBS). 2001. (Ref. H 41 I58 2001)

HANDBOOKS
Archaeology Handbook. 1991. (Ref. CC 76 M38)
Complete Manual of Field Archaeology. 1980. (CC 76 J68)
Heritage Resources Law: Protecting the Archeological and Cultural Environment. 1999. (Ref. KF 4310 .H883 1999)
Oxford Companion to Archaeology. 1996. (Ref. CC 70 O96)