LibGuides: Political Science: Countries

Online Sources

Background Notes
Country information from the U.S Department of State
Candidate Countries Eurobarometer (CCEB)
Survey of countries applying for membership in the EU beginning in 2001. The qualitative studies provide an in-depth study of the motivations, the feelings and the reactions of selected social groups towards a given subject or concept.
CIA World Factbook
Provides statistical and narrative information about countries of the world.
Library of Congress Country Studies
Provides full-text information on political, economic, social, and cultural aspects of countries throughout the world.
Eurobarometer
Eurobarometer was established in 1973. Each survey consists of approximately 1000 face-to-face interviews per Member State.
World Bank Group: Countries and Economies

Print Sources

Background Notes. 1998. [Gov Docs S 1.123:]
Comprehensive information about many countries throughout the world published by the U.S. State Department. Geographic, demographic, political, economic, and cultural information are usually provided.

CIA World Factbook. 2010. [Online and Ref. Desk PREX 3.15:2010]
Provides statistical and narrative information about countries of the world.

Constitutions of the World. 1995. [Ref. K 3157 E5 M33]
Provides descriptions of constitutions and constitutional histories. Arranged alphabetically by country with a glossary and index.

Europa Regional Surveys of the World. 7 volumes. 2003.
Provides lengthy summaries of the geography, history, government, economy, services, religion, media, and more for each country in the world. Descriptive information, as well as statistical tables and charts, are included. Titles in the 2003 series are as follows. Older editions of several of the works are also available in the Book Stacks.

Africa South of the Sahara (Ref. D3 A4 A3)
Far East and Australasia (Ref. D3 A4 F3)
South America, Central America, and the Caribbean (Ref. D3 A4 S6)
Western Europe (Ref. D3 A4 W4)
The USA and Canada (Ref. D3 A4 U8)
Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia (Ref. D3 A4 E2)
Central and South-Eastern Europe (Ref. D3 A4 C4)
Middle East & North Africa (Ref. DS 49 .M5)

Europa World Yearbook. 2 vols. 2011. [Ref. Desk JN 1 E85]
Provides summaries of the geography, history, government, economy, services, religion, and media of each country in the world. Descriptive information, as well as statistical tables and charts, are included. See also Political Handbook of the World (older editions JF 37 P61), Statesman's Yearbook (Ref. JA 51 .S7), and the Commonwealth Yearbook (Ref. JN 248 .C5912).

European Political Facts, 1648-1984. 4 vols. 1975-1984. [Ref. JN 3 C65]
Provides facts about the elections, government leaders, justice systems, economy, etc. of the European countries. See also European Political Facts, 1900-1996 (Ref. JN 12 C637 1998) and British Political Facts, 1900-1985 (Ref. JN 231 B8).

Rulers and Governments of the World, Earliest Times-1975. 3 vols. 1977-1978. [Ref. D 11 R84]
Arranged alphabetically by country or territory, provides ruler's dates of birth, accession, nomination, or election, relation to preceding ruler, and resignation or death.