Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Public History

Finding Books

For information on how to locate books in the library, use the Locating Books guide.
UWF students who live over 50 miles from the UWF campus may request that books be delivered by mail.

Search Library Catalog
Search for physical materials in our collection.

UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions and usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.

Make sure you log in with your Argonet credentials in the top right corner of the Primo VE page. Select Statewide Catalog from the dropdown menu in the search box. Use the UBorrow Request link in the catalog record, then click the green Send button at the bottom of the submission form. You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk. 

The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal. UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals. Select My Loans from the dropdown menu in your profile, then click Renew. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or a request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information Desk.

Notes and Reminders:

  • e-books and other media are not available through UBorrow
  • do not remove the UBorrow paperwork attached to the book(s)
  • you will be fined for all overdue, lost, and damaged UBorrow loans


UBorrow - Statewide Union Catalog
Search for materials across all 40 Florida state universities and public colleges.

If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will be notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.

To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat (in Databases A-Z list), a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.

For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.

The Library Catalog: A Tutorial

Watch this brief video for help using the library catalog:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.

E-Books

We have over 160,000 ebooks in our collections.  Links to many of these titles are included in OneSearch and the library catalog, but you may also search online book collections directly.


UWF Databases: 


Online Sites:

Background Sources

The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog. There are also over 800 reference titles available in our online reference database CREDO, linked below.


Reference Guides and Bibliographies
A Bibliography of West Florida. 3 vols. (Ref. Z 1272 .W4 S47 1982)
The Craft of Public History. 1983. (D 13.5 U6 C74)
Florida Records Management, Retention & Disposal, Official State Guidelines
Genealogical Research in the National Archives
Guide to the Records of the Florida State Archives. (Ref CD 3174 .G85 1988)
Keyguide to Information Sources in Museum Studies. (Ref. AM 5 .W66 1994)
The Museum: A Reference Guide. (Ref. AM5 .M8 1990)
National Council on Public History
Oral History Association
Oral History: From Tape to Type. 1978. (Book Stacks D 16.14 D38)
Sources of Information for Historical Research. (Ref. D 20 .S55 1994)
U.S. Military Records: A Guide to Federal and State Sources, Colonial America to the Present. (Ref. E181 .N4 1994)
Yale University Library: Using Manuscripts and Archives: A Tutorial

Directories
American Library Directory. 2 vols. Annual. (Ref. Z 731 .A53)
Archives and Manuscript Collections
Corporate Information
Directory of Corporate Archives in the United States and Canada
Directory of Historical Resources
International Directory of Company Histories. 1988- (Ref. HD 2721 .D36 1988)
National Contact Center
The Official Museum Directory. 2 vols. (Ref. AM 10.A2 O4 2000)
Research Centers Directory. 2 vols. (Ref. AS 25 .D5 2000)
Virtual Library Museums Pages

Handbooks and Yearbooks
The Almanac of American Politic. 1972-76, 1980- (Ref. JK 1010 .A6)
Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook. 2 vols. 1999. (Ref HE 8689 .B77)
Congressional Quarterly Almanac. 1948- (Ref. JK 1.C66)
Facts on File Yearbook. 1941- (Ref. D 410 .F3)
Florida Almanac. 1980- (Ref. F 311 .F65)
International Motion Picture Almanac. 1991- (Ref. PN 1993.3 I55)
Preservation Leaflets
World Almanac and Book of Facts. Annual. 1923- (Ref. AY 67 N5 W7) & Emerald Coast Library