Skip to main content
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Art

Researching and finding resources on art.

Guides to Researching Art

Art Research Methods and Resources : A Guide to Finding Art Information. 1984. (Ref. N 85 J64 1984)
A reference guide to art research preparation, methodology, resources, iconographic resources, and research centers. See also, Visual Arts Research: A Handbook (Ref. N 85 P 55 1986), Research Guide to the History of Western Art. 1982. (Ref. N 380 K56 1982)

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Atlas of World Art. 2004. (Reference - G1046 E1 O96 2004) 

Over 300 maps combining cultural and political phenomena create an exciting new perspective on major art events from 40,000 BC to the present.

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. 2010. (Reference - N33 C575 2010)
With more than 1,700 entries, this volume is an accessible and comprehensive A-Z guide covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including periods, styles, materials, well-known schools, techniques, and much more. 

Photography. 2010. (Reference - TR183 B85 2010)
This volume explores the photography in the twenty-first century and its importance as a media form. The author considers our media-saturated society and the place of photography in everyday life, including theories used to analyze photographs and exploring the impact of digital technology.

American Art to 1900: A Documentary History. 2009. (Reference - N6505 B87 2009) 
The story of American art through the many voices of its contemporary practitioners, consumers, and commentators. American Art to 1900 highlights such critically important themes as women artists, African American representation and expression, regional and itinerant artists, Native Americans and the frontier, popular culture and vernacular imagery, institutional history, and more. 

Biographies

Allgemeines Lexikon der bildenden Künstler von der antike bis zur gegenwart. 1907-50. (Ref. N 40 T4)
Also known as the Thieme-Becker, is considered the most complete and scholarly biographical reference work in the field of art. Includes over 50,000 artists from all countries and all time periods. The bibliographies at the end of each entry include reference to books, catalogs, and periodical articles.

Artists of the American West: A Biographical Dictionary. 3 vols. 1974-1985. (Ref. N 6536 D38)
A comprehensive biographical three-volume dictionary covering over 4,000 artists 'who worked in the 17 states lying roughly west of the 95th meridian.' Aimed as a resource for collectors, curators, librarians, researchers, laymen and art dealers. It includes very brief biographical entries to painters, illustrators, and printmakers.

Contemporary Artists. 1989. (Ref. N 6490 C6567 1989)

Includes over 850 artists from various media in the fine and applied arts. Those who died before world War II are excluded. Entries include a brief biography, references to exhibitions and collections, a bibliography by and about the artist, name of agent or dealer, and a signed critical essay.

Contemporary Latin American Artists: Exhibitions at the Organization of American States 1941-1964. 1997. (Stacks N 6502.5 C659 1997)
It is recognized as the standard dictionary for American artists. There are some 900 artists who have attained a certain stature or status, mostly painters and some sculptors and printmakers. Includes a pronunciation guide to artists' names and some black-and-white illustrations.

A Dictionary of Russian and Soviet Artists, 1420-1970. 1993. (Ref. N 6998 M55 1993)
An illustrated dictionary with an introductory essay by the editor John Milner. Includes painters, theater designers, illustrators, graphic artists, sculptors, and ceramic artists. Biographical information vary from one sentence to a couple of double-column pages

Dictionary of Women Artists. 2 vols. 1997. (Ref. N 8354 D53 1997)
This dictionary 'contains substantial entries on artists working in a wide variety of media from the Middle Ages to the present day, in countries throughout Europe as well as America and Australasia.' There are also eleven Introductory Surveys (Convents, Court Artists, Copyists, Printmakers, etc.), Alphabetical and Chronological List of Artists.

Dictionary of Women Artists: An International Dictionary of Women Artists Born Before 1900. (Ref. N 43 P47 1985)
More than 21,000 female painters, printmakers, illustrators, sculptors are included. Not included are: photographers, architects, craftwomen and designers. A valuable reference tool useful also to identify elusive or obscure names.

International Dictionary of Art and Artists. 1990. (Ref. N 7425 I67 1990)
Volume One provides information on 500 important European and American artists from the 13th to the 20th centuries. It includes painters, sculptors, and engravers. Biographical information is followed by a critical essay and a listing of the most important works by the artist. Volume Two deals with 500 individual works of art in chronological sequence.

Mantle Fielding's Dictionary of American Painters, Sculptors and Engravers. 1986. (Ref. N 6536 F5 1986)
One of the standard biographical tools with nearly 13,000 American artists of all time periods. Provides comprehensive information on major and minor artists.

Who Was Who in American Art. 1985. (Ref. N 6512 F26 1985)
Compiled from the original thirty-four volumes of American Art Annual and Who's Who in Art, Biographies of American Artists Active from 1898-1947, and edited by Peter Hastings Falk. Includes over 25,000 deceased persons associated in some way with American art, such as painters, sculptors, printmakers, illustrators, photographers, cartoonists, critics, curators, educators and craft people.

Who's Who in Art. 1927, 1968, 1977- (Ref. N 40 W6 1990)
A comprehensive biographical directory of primarily British artists and one of the oldest continuing reference tools in the field. Artists entries also include present address and manner of signing their work.

Women Artists in the United States: A Selective Bibliography and Resource Guide on the Fine and Decorative Arts, 1750-1986. 1990. (Ref. N 6536 W6)
A comprehensive work treating female American artists of all types (except needlework), with an excellent set of introductory essays by 16 specialists. There are over 2,500 artists including African-Americans, Native Americans, Asian-Americans, and Latin Americans.

Directories

American Art Directory. 1999- (Ref. N 50 A54)
Published for the American Federation of Arts, this source includes over 7,000 art museums, libraries, associations, schools, and studios in the United States and Canada. It is considered the standard art directory for the U.S.

Art in America. Annual Guide to Galleries, Museums, Artists. 1982- (Periodicals N 1 A43)
This is a special August issue of the journal Art in America

International Directory of Arts. 1998- (Ref. N 50 I6)
This is the most comprehensive international directory for the arts. It identifies organizations and people. For example, in the 25th edition there were 6,500 new entries for museums and 8,000 for art dealers. All entries are arranged according to chapters, country, names, place names and names of museums or companies. There is also a name index for museum staff.

The Official Museum Directory.2000- (Ref. AM 10 A2 O4)
This publication of the American Association of Museums is regarded by many as the standard tool for locating and identifying all types of museums in the United States. More than 7,000 institution are identified, including associations, museums, gardens and zoos. There is a subject and geographical guide.