Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Holocaust

Finding Books

For information on how to locate books in the library, use the Locating Books guide.
UWF students who live over 50 miles from the UWF campus may request that books be delivered by mail.

Search Library Catalog
Search for physical materials in our collection.

UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions and usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.

Make sure you log in with your Argonet credentials in the top right corner of the Primo VE page. Select Statewide Catalog from the dropdown menu in the search box. Use the UBorrow Request link in the catalog record, then click the green Send button at the bottom of the submission form. You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk. 

The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal. UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals. Select My Loans from the dropdown menu in your profile, then click Renew. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or a request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information Desk.

Notes and Reminders:

  • e-books and other media are not available through UBorrow
  • do not remove the UBorrow paperwork attached to the book(s)
  • you will be fined for all overdue, lost, and damaged UBorrow loans


UBorrow - Statewide Union Catalog
Search for materials across all 40 Florida state universities and public colleges.

If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will be notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.

To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat (in Databases A-Z list), a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.

For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.

Background Sources

The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog. There are also 800 reference titles available in our online reference database CREDO, linked below.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies, University of Minnesota
Drew University Center for Holocaust / Genocide Study
Holocaust Bibliography
Jewish Virtual Library, Bibliography of the Holocaust, Nazi Germany, and World War II
Literature of the Holocaust, University of Pennsylvania
Nazism, Resistance, & Holocaust in World War II: A Bibliography. 1985. (Ref. D 810 J4 L35 1985).

CHRONOLOGIES
World War II Almanac, 1931-1945: A Political and Military Record. 1981. (Ref. D 743 .5 G64)
Chronology of Jewish Persecution
Destruction of European Jewry: Explanatory Timeline
Holocaust Chronicle
Timeline: Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES OF THE HOLOCAUST
Columbia Guide to the Holocaust. (netlibrary) 2000. (Ref. D 804 .3 N54 2000)
Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, and Terminology. 1997. (Ref. D 804 .25 E67 1997)
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust. 4 volumes. 1990. (Ref. D 804 .3 E53 1990)
Holocaust Encyclopedia
Holocaust Glossary
Holocaust Glossary: Terms, Places, and Personalities
Holocaust Encyclopedia. 2001. (Ref. D 804 .25 H66 2001)

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES OF WORLD WAR II
Biographical Dictionary of World War II. 1999. (Ref. D 736 B63 1999).
Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History. 5 volumes. 2005. (Ref. D 740 E516)"
Oxford Companion to World War II. 1995. (Ref. D 740 O94 1995)