LibGuides: Ancient &amp; Medieval History: Journal Articles

OneSearch

OneSearch is the easiest way to find articles on a particular topic. It brings together results containing books, articles, and other library resources in one powerful search. To limit your search to scholarly articles, click on Peer-Reviewed Journals in the Availability facet on the left side. Use other facets to narrow your results by date, resource type, subject, etc.

OneSearch

OneSearch - Advanced Search

Databases

Databases index journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials. These databases are the most relevant for Ancient and Medieval history:

Historical Abstracts (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Premier source for scholarly articles, books, and many dissertations on all aspects of world history except the U.S. and Canada
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I - X Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.
Project Muse - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers full-text access to journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
ATLA Religion Database (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA Religion Database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. From 1949.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
An indispensable resource for students researching religious issues and perspectives. The database includes nearly 120 titles, with more than 100 available in full text.
Humanities Source (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. It includes full text of over 1,500 journals, feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more. (upgraded from Humanities Abstracts)

Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1830-1974. [Ref. D 1 C73]
Selective indexing of about 1,000 journals in history, political science, and sociology under keyword or subject categories. See also Recently Published Articles, 1976-1990 [Ref. D 1 R4].

Articles not at UWF

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Services

If you need an article that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan at no cost.

Articles are delivered electronically to your ILL account, and you will notified when they are received. Most articles are received in about 24-48 hours, but it can take up to 5 days.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search for scholarly and "grey" literature: articles, books, conference proceedings and presentations, white papers theses, etc., from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities.

Set Google Scholar to link to UWF Libraries resources from off-campus:

Click Settings in Google Scholar
Click Library Links
Type University of West Florida into the box and search
Check the UWF boxes
Click the blue SAVE button to save these settings

Remember, you need to be logged in through Remote Access to access these resources from off-campus.

How to Find a Scholarly Article: A Tutorial

Watch this brief video for help finding scholarly articles:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.

Transcript of "Finding a Scholarly Article" Video Tutorial