Skip to main content
UWF Libraries logo
Your opinion counts! Please give us feedback.

Ancient and Medieval History

Finding Books

UBorrow allows you to request print books directly from Florida’s state universities and colleges.  This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the book collections of these institutions usually delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.

When searching in UWF library catalog, click on the blue    icon in the top right corner.  Alternatively, you can search Mango (the union catalog) directly.  To request books, click on the UBorrow icon under the item, enter your *full, 13-digit* Nautilus card number and password, and select the pick-up location.  You will receive an email when the book arrives and is ready for pick-up at the library's Information Desk.

The loan period for UBorrow items is 45 days from the time the item arrives on campus, and you may request one 30-day renewal.  UBorrow renewals are placed exactly like UWF book renewals - through Renew My Books or the Renewals/Library Account link in the library catalog. UBorrow renewals must be placed before the due date, and you will receive an email notification with the new due date or request denial. UBorrow books should be returned to the Information desk.

Notes and Reminders:

  • e-books and other media are not available through UBorrow
  • do not remove the UBorrow paperwork attached to the book(s)
  • you will be fined for all overdue, lost, and damaged UBorrow loans

If you need a book that is not available at UWF, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Most books are received in about 2 weeks, and you will be notified when they are available for you to pick up at the Reference desk.

To identify books on your topic that UWF doesn't own, try searching WorldCat (in Databases A-Z list), a catalog of materials at universities, community colleges, public libraries, and other library agencies throughout the United States and internationally.

For more information, watch this brief InterLibrary Loan video.

The Library Catalog: A Tutorial

Watch this brief video for help using the library catalog:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired. A transcript of this video is also provided below.

Online Reference Sources

There are over 600 reference titles available in CREDO, our online reference database. Many are specifically related to Ancient and Medieval history, inlcuding:

Background Sources

The following print sources are located in the Reference collection on the first floor. Additional titles can be identified by searching the library catalog.

REFERENCE GUIDES AND BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Guide to the Sources of Medieval History. 1978. (Ref. D 117 .C2213)
Guide to The Study of Medieval History. 1980. (Ref. Z6203 P25)
International Medieval Bibliography. 1968- (Ref. Z 6203 I63)
Introduction to Ancient History. 1970. (Z 6202 B413)
Literature of Medieval History: 1930-1975. 5 Vols. (Ref. Z 6203 P25 1980 Suppl.)
Medieval Studies: An Introduction. 1976. (Ref. D 116 M4 1976)
Oriental Institute: Recommended Readings on the Ancient Near East.

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
An Archaic Dictionary: Biographical, Historical, and Mythological... (Ref. DS61 C65 1969)
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology. 1980. (Ref. CC 165 C3)
Civilization of The Ancient Mediterranean: Greece And Rome. 3 Vols. 1988. (Ref. DE 59 C55) & Emerald Coast
A Dictionary of Ancient History. Ref. DE5 .D53 1994)
Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 13 Vols. 1982-1989. (Ref. D 114 D5)
The Middle Ages: A Concise Encyclopedia. 1989. (Ref D 114 M54 1989)
New Catholic Encyclopedia (2nd ed.).
On-Line Reference Book for Medieval Studies (ORB).
The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 1996. (Ref. DE 5 O9 1996)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology. 2010. (Ref U37 O94 2010)

STANDARD HISTORIES
The Cambridge Ancient History. 17 Vols. 1965+ Supplements. (Ref. D 57 C25)
The New Cambridge Medieval History. 8 Vols. 1995. (Ref. D 117 N48 1995)