LibGuides: Health Sciences: Find Journal Articles

Steps to Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list below (e.g., Health and Wellness)

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates. type of resources, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use or to link to full text articles available in other databases

Databases

These databases are the most relevant sources to identify and find journal articles on topics related to health care administration:

Business Source Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for tens of thousands of business publications; cover to cover full-text content from thousands of journals & magazines, including: Harvard Business Review, Journal of Marketing, Administrative Science Quarterly, MIS Quarterly and many other important titles. Extensive full-text archives (e.g., Harvard Business Review is available from 1922 to present — it is not in JSTOR). Cited references for more than 1,300 journals
CINAHL Ultimate (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. This database covers over 50 nursing specialties.

CINAHL Searching Tip Sheet

Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Over 5000 reviews of research on medical treatments, practices, and diagnostic tests are provided in this database. Cochrane Reviews is the premier resource for Evidence Based Practice.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
Health and Medicine Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in Health Reference Center plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals
Health and Wellness Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
The Health and Wellness Resource Center provides full text information from medical dictionaries, encyclopedias, journals, and other resources. This comprehensive health database covers most areas of sports medicine.
MEDLINE (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 28 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive electronic collection of scholarly science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of current and historical statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.