LibGuides: Social Policy: Library Resources

Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile provides access to peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the journals and reference sources. Academic Onefile is comprehensive and cross disciplinary
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
The ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of over 45,000 social science-related surveys, studies, and datasets for research in history, political science. PLEASE NOTE: To download datasets you will first need to create an account associating you with UWF using this link: https://login.ezproxy.lib.uwf.edu/login?url=http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/cgi-bin/newacct
LexisNexis Academic (Now Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Social Work Abstracts (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
WestLaw Next for Campus (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Access to primary and secondary legal resources including codes, statutes, cases and law reviews.

How to Find a Scholarly Article: A Tutorial

Watch the following video tutorial for help with finding scholarly articles:

You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired.

Managing Citations

Commonly referred to as bibliographic, reference, or citation managers, these tools are freely available (you can upgrade for a fee) and allow you to build your own database of resources in a wide variety of formats. Each allows you to:

Upload citations from databases
Use plugins in Google and other browsers to add resources to your folders
Create bibliographies in a wide variety of styles, including many used by specific journals
Use a plugin for Word or Google Docs that inserts in-text citations and build your bibliography at the same time

Below you will find information for Zotero and Mendeley two of the commonly used citation managers. Though both work a bit differently they provide similar services and document outputs.

Zotero

Zotero is an open-source bibliographic management tool that allows you to save citations directly from library databases in any citation format you choose. You can also use Zotero to create bibliographies and lists of references for term papers. Zotero is free, just for signing up, and you'll keep your account after you graduate. It requires a one-time download. The detailed Zotero LibGuide is a helpful resource.

Zotero FAQs
Zotero - Support guides and information
Quick Guide - Creating bibliographies with Zotero

Background Sources

American Community Organizations by Particia Mooney Melvin (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HN 90 C6 A69
Publication Date: 1986-11-18
Contains lengthy definitions of individuals who have contributed to community organizations and associations that have affected the community organization movement. Lists of organizations, key legislation, and important individuals relating to community organization are included in the appendices. A subject index is provided

Most reference books dealing with social services can be found in the HV1-HV9920 call number range on the first floor.

American jurisprudence : a modern comprehensive text statement of American law, State and Federal.
Call Number: Ref. KF154 .A42
Publication Date: 1962-
This encyclopedic treatment of American state and federal case law is well-indexed and is updated with regular supplements. For an encyclopedic account of Florida statutory and case law see Florida Jurisprudence
Biographical Dictionary of Social Welfare in America by Walter I. Trattner
Call Number: Ref. HV27 .B57 1986
ISBN: 0313230013
Publication Date: 1986-04-22
International Encyclopedia of Adolescence by Jeffrey Jensen Arnett
Call Number: Ref. HQ796 .I58 2007
Publication Date: 2006-09-22
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by Terry Mizrahi; Larry E. Davis
Call Number: Ref. HV35 .S6 20th ed. (2008): v.1-4
Publication Date: 2010-11-03
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Ref. H41 .I58 2001 v.1-26
Publication Date: 2001-11-22
This highly inter-disciplinary, 26-volume encyclopedia set provides thousands of detailed articles written by 4,000 authors from over 50 countries, including 150 biographical entries of deceased scientists and scholars. The fully cross-referenced work also provides approximately 90,000 bibliographic references and concludes with comprehensive name and subject indexes. This new reference tool helps to supplement and update the information contained in MacMillan's classic, 18-volume International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Legal Almanac Series
Call Number: Ref. KF 209 .L4, followed by the issue number
Publication Date: 1946-
This series consists of numerous small, regularly updated handbooks published by Oceana Publications which cover individual topics as they relate to current, United States law. Examples of topics include wills, divorce, adoption, homosexuality, AIDS, civil liberties, child abuse, and drug abuse. Researchers may enter the phrase legal almanac series in the online catalog to view all of the titles in the series, or may search individually by the title or author of particular volumes
Modern Dictionary for the Legal Profession by Gerry W. Beyer; Kenneth R. Redden; Margaret M. Beyer (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. KF156 .B49 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
This works contains definitions of over 8,000 modern terms from a variety of professions related to law. The majority of concepts are from the areas of business and political science, although coverage of psychology, literature, and medicine is also provided
The Social Science Encyclopedia by Adam Kuper (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. H41 .S63 2004 v.1-2
ISBN: 0415320968
Publication Date: 2005-01-10
This double-volume encyclopedia provides page-length descriptions of concepts relating to the social sciences. Over 700 entries concerning theories, methodologies, issues, and biographies are included in this work. Bibliographies accompany each essay
The Social Work Dictionary by Robert L. Barker
Call Number: Ref. HV12 .B37 1999
Publication Date: 1998-08-01
This work provides short definitions of words, concepts, organizations, historical events, and values relevant to social work
West's Encyclopedia of American Law by Jeffrey Lehman; Shirelle Phelps
Call Number: UWF Emerald Coast Campus Lib Reference -- KF154 .W47 2005 v.1-13
Publication Date: 2004-08-27
Lengthy essays describing issues related to American law are presented in language understandable to a layperson. Cross reference to official versions of laws are also included

Online reference Resources

There are almost 450 reference materials in Credo , our new online reference database. Many are specifically related to social work. Here's a small sample.

Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers

The Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing

Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships

Social Policy

Subject Guide

Steps to Finding Articles