Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cochrane Library (Wiley)
Over 5000 reviews of research on medical treatments, practices, and diagnostic tests are provided in this database. Cochrane Reviews is the premier resource for Evidence Based Practice.
Guides and Links
The Cochrane site has many useful videos and guides. Examples of two that will help you get started are:
The Cochrane Library provides "high quality evidence for health care decision making" using criteria for conducting its systematic reviews. Within Cochrane Library, there are six databases containing evidence or reviews of healthcare and health policy:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - includes peer reviewed systematic reviews
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - information about trials from articles mostly found in MEDLINE
- Cochrane Methodology Register - a bibliography of books, articles, and other resources from MEDLINE relating to methods used in trials
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects - Contains abstracts of systematic reviews
- Health Technology Assessment Database - identifies current health technology studies
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database - information about the cost effectiveness of current health care
The main page of the Cochrane Library has a default search screen as well as other features: