Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Steps to Finding Articles
Locate a database from the list to the right (e.g., Social Work)
Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates. type of resources, etc.
Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article
Use or to link to full text articles available in other databases
Articles not at UWF
Request the article from Interlibrary Loan if it is not available at UWF
Articles are delivered electronically from libraries owning the journal
You will be emailed when they articles are available
Interlibrary Loan is free and takes around 4 days for articles to arrive
Social Work & Sociology
Social Work Abstracts (A&I) (Ebsco)
Offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Usage is limited to 4 users at a time.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Other Relevant Databases
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. UMI offers over 1.8 million titles for purchase in microfilm or paper formats. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate free download.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale Group database for research in all academic disciplines. Combines indexing, abstracts, full text and images.
PsycARTICLES (Index Only) (APA) This link opens in a new window
A database of articles from 52 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycINFO (A&I) (APA) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is an abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
How to Find a Scholarly Article: A Tutorial
Watch the following video tutorial for help with finding scholarly articles:
You may activate the closed-captioning on this video, if desired.
Commonly referred to as bibliographic, reference, or citation managers, these tools are freely available (you can upgrade for a fee) and allow you to build your own database of resources in a wide variety of formats. Each allows you to:
- Upload citations from databases
- Use plugins in Google and other browsers to add resources to your folders
- Create bibliographies in a wide variety of styles, including many used by specific journals
- Use a plugin for Word or Google Docs that inserts in-text citations and build your bibliography at the same time
Below you will find information for Zotero and Mendeley two of the commonly used citation managers. Though both work a bit differently they provide similar services and document outputs.
Zotero is an open-source bibliographic management tool that allows you to save citations directly from library databases in any citation format you choose. You can also use Zotero to create bibliographies and lists of references for term papers. Zotero is free, just for signing up, and you'll keep your account after you graduate. It requires a one-time download. The detailed Zotero LibGuide is a helpful resource.
Zotero FAQs: https://www.zotero.org/support/frequently_asked_questions
Zotero - Support guides and information
Quick Guide - Creating bibliographies with Zotero