LibGuides: Nursing: Finding Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

Locate a database from the list to the below.

Search the database with keywords and use filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use or to link to full text articles available in other databases

Check the list of ejournals and the library catalog to make sure UWF does not own the journal you need

If an article is not available at UWF, request it on Interlibrary Loan. Articles are delivered electronically free of charge, usually within a few days, from libraries owning the journal. You will be emailed when they articles are available.

The databases below are the most relevant sources to identify and find journal articles on topics related to nursing and health care

CINAHL Ultimate (Ebsco)
The most comprehensive database to articles in nursing and other health related areas. Almost 3000 nursing and allied health journals are indexed in this database, nearly 1400 of them are available full text.

CINAHL Searching Tip Sheet

Cochrane Library (Wiley)
Over 5000 reviews of research on medical treatments, practices, and diagnostic tests are provided in this database. Cochrane Reviews is the premier resource for Evidence Based Practice.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
This database is published in association with the University of Southern California's Institute of Safety and Systems Management and provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety and industrial hygiene
Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is one of the world's leading evidence-based practice (EBP) organisations. JBI's evidence-based practice resources assist healthcare professionals to implement an effective evidence-based practice program to provide the best possible patient care. Systematic reviews, recommended practices, evidence summaries, and more.
MEDLINE (Clarivate)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 28 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
Provides indexing of over 1000 journals (875 are full text) in nursing and other health professions. Over 12000 full text dissertations are included.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale)
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection (Gale)
Both researcher and practitioner alike will find relevant, authoritative content in this collection, which includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Covering a wide spectrum of information, researchers will have access to a diverse, but focused set of topics in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more.
PsycNet (APA)
formerly known as PsycINFO, this abstract database provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
PubMed (NLM)
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Note: Check the UWF Library EJournal Titles for items not available in full text, if not owned by our library then you may request an Inter Library Loan.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
A comprehensive electronic collection of scholarly science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Social Work Abstracts (Ebsco)
Offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Web of Science (Clarivate)
The Web of Science contains several databases:
-Web of Science Core Collection
-Biological Abstracts
-KCI-Korean Journal Database
-MEDLINE
-Preprint Citation Index
-ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index
-SciELO Citation Index

Finding Popular Articles

Finding popular magazines and articles can be quite challenging because most of of our databases focus on scholarly, peer-reviewed resources. However if you go to the right database these types of articles can be found.

Not sure about the differences between journals and magazines? Check out the this chart to learn more.

Below are three databases that should prove useful for finding popular articles. You will search then the same as you would any other databases. They either focus on popular resources or can be limited to magazines

NOTE: The term magazines includes trade journals/magazines which are considered magazines that focus on a given profession.

Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
Provides indexing of over 1000 journals (875 are full text) in nursing and other health professions. Over 12000 full text dissertations are included.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale)
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Popular Magazines (Gale)
Access the most searched magazines across Gale OneFile focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues.

Primary Nursing Journals

Online journals are listed e-journal list. Older print journals are in the library catalog - these are located on the second floor of the library and are shelved by call number.

Most nursing journals are indexed in databases like CINAHL, the primary nursing database. We also have 18 core online journals from the OVID publisher (they are also indexed in CINAHL):