LibGuides: Medicine: Find Journal Articles

Steps to Finding Articles

Locate a database from the list to the below (e.g., Medline)

Search the database with keywords using filters to limit dates, types of resources, other terms, etc.

Use the full text links (pdf versions are preferred) within the database to view article

Use or SFX to link to full text articles available in other databases

Check our list of ejournals and the library catalog to make sure UWF does not own the journal you need

If your article is not available in full-text you may request it through Interlibrary Loan. Articles are delivered electronically from libraries owning the journal and you will be emailed when they articles are available.

Interlibrary Loan is free and takes around 5 days for articles to arrive

Health Science and Related Databases

CINAHL Ultimate (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. This database covers over 50 nursing specialties.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Over 5000 reviews of research on medical treatments, practices, and diagnostic tests are provided in this database. Cochrane Reviews is the premier resource for Evidence Based Practice.
Health and Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Health and Medicine Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in Health Reference Center plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals
Immunology Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Studies are summarized relating to all aspects of immune systems in man and animals, including normal functions and disorders
MEDLINE (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 28 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
PsycNet (APA) This link opens in a new window
formerly known as PsycINFO, this abstract database provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
PTSDpubs (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PTSD pubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive electronic collection of scholarly science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Virology and AIDS Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Virology and AIDS Abstracts provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS.
Web of Science (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science contains several databases:
-Web of Science Core Collection
-Biological Abstracts
-KCI-Korean Journal Database
-MEDLINE
-Preprint Citation Index
-ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index
-SciELO Citation Index

Science Databases

Biological Abstracts (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
Now part of Web of Science, Biological Abstracts is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database provides users with access to the latest information in virtually every life science discipline
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The collection contains biological science related full-text articles and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive electronic collection of scholarly science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Science Full Text Select (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of general science, applied science and technology, and biological and agricultural articles. Some available full text. (formerly H.W. Wilson)
SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Article records, deep indexing and full text covering both technological and natural sciences. It combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
Web of Science (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science contains several databases:
-Web of Science Core Collection
-Biological Abstracts
-KCI-Korean Journal Database
-MEDLINE
-Preprint Citation Index
-ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index
-SciELO Citation Index
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley provides broad and deep coverage of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Many articles are available full text.