Local History Research

Bibliographic database covering the scholarly historical literature in the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.

Project MUSE offers full-text access to journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Over 270 African American newspapers published between 1827 and 1998.

Search the entire AAS collection at once. AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture. These collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry & professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Legislative and executive documents from the beginning of U.S. history.

Colonial America (1606-1822) consists of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at The National Archives in London, plus all extracted documents associated with them. This unique collection of largely manuscript material from the archives of the British government is invaluable for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American history and the early-modern Atlantic world.

Online access to more than 36,000 printed books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America during the 17th- and 18th- centuries.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) provides digital access to more than 100,000 literary and historical classics and features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product. It contains images of works by such authors as Malory, Spenser, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo.

This compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Use the "Go to My Start Page" link to access. Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Searches the full range of Pensacola News Journal content from 1905 to current.

This collection of historical newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of this region. Coverage varies from 1873-2016.

Reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

Historical maps published as part of U.S. Congressional Serial Set publications.